New York is for Dreamers

28 Jan

Hi – I’m Courtney… aka, the other half of the ultimate dynamite duo! I’m currently living in the best city in the world for my top two passions: food and shopping. More specifically, I mildly obsess over: all things cheese, candy, garlic, Lululemon, & Top Shop. I am a 4+ year old vegetarian and have never looked back! While I occasionally consider running to the subway cardio, pushing the doors back open before they crush me weight training, and shooting nerf guns at work cross-training – I do love to run and am always interested in trying out all of the new fitness classes this gigantic city has to offer!

Nerf!

Today, I had roasting and baking on my mind. After work, I popped a potato in the oven with the idea of making health-ified potato skins. (Think: childhood favorite @ TGIFridays) Even though I did run to catch my subway, I took the opportunity as my potato was-a-bakin for an hour to do a quick 20 minute cardio + a few sets of squats with 10 lb weights before I prepped my roasted brussel sprouts. Ahhh, the benefits of having a gym in your building amidst NYC snow storms.

Little Muscles!

I halved some fresh brussel sprouts and marinated them in olive oil, fresh squeezed lemon juice, minced garlic, and some ground pepper!

Ready for roasting!

By the time I put the brussel sprouts in the oven, my potato was ready to be smothered in the olive oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes I sautéed. I cut the potato in half, spooned out the insides, and did just that! I threw it back in the oven for 10 minutes with the skins up. I saved the garlic, cheese, and chives for the last few minutes when I turned them back over.

The hidden ingredient - roasted garlic :D

The final result was delicious, not to mention easy. The hardest part was waiting, but that’s a quick fix when you have the gym and Housewives of Beverly Hills at your finger tips. :)

nom, nom, nom.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

