Archive | 12:45 am

Blame it on the Almond Butter

29 Jan

Today, I am the bounciest, most energetic girl! Maybe it’s because after a breakfast of a whole-wheat tortilla filled with a scoop of MaraNatha Chocolate Almond Spread& a banana, I felt the need to clean out the jar:

blame it on the a a a a a almond buttah

 

After my endless bouncing around the house at 10am, Danny (my boyfriend) shouted “WOW..this is worse than when you had the fun dip!” [True..I am guilty of buying a giant pack of fun dip..not sharing a bite..then having a sugar rushed wild night of  screaming at the tv playing an NBA Playstation game.]

Thankfully the buttah + a multi-grain tortilla (archer farms, hey target!) + an egg, feta, hummus, and spinach powered me through my workout!

egg, feta, & baby spinach!

I’ve been reading a ton in the blog world about “lifting heavy”. I’ve been giving it a shot for a month or so, and I can honestly say I see better results. For example, my old bicep curl consisted of 3 sets of 12 reps with 8 pound weights. My new curls consist of 3 sets of 8 reps with 15 pound weights.

Maybe I’m a weakling, but those 15 pound dumbbells get my arms shaking in the end!

As for chest presses and shoulder presses (I think that’s correct?!) I’ve been doing 3 sets of 8 reps using 40 pounds.

My lovely marathon plan had me running 3 miles today. I hit 2.5 on the treadmill and just wasn’t feelin’ it. I think I had way too much coffee on the way over to the gym..my legs were so shaky. I hopped off the treadmill and onto the elliptical for an easy 20 minutes of additional cardio.

I used to be SO hard on myself for having a rough workout- now I listen to my body, get over it, and hope tomorrow is a better day.

-Jamie

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers