dealing with disappointment

18 Feb

Today’s high in VA Beach: 75 degrees. If you haven’t noticed yet, I’m fairly obsessed with the weather. I crave sun and warmth, and will watch the temperature like a hawk as it climbs ’til summer.

The reason I was most pumped for sun today? A mid-morning RUN! After a breakfast of Cinnamon Cheerios mixed with plain greek yogurt & some almond butter (I make odd protein packed creations) I put on my “I’m a serious runner look at me ;)” gear.

is it august yet?!

I was so excited that I even felt the need to jump for JOY!

because i’m okay with spreading embarrassing photos of myself throughout the internet

Enter: The actual run. The plan: Stay under 9 minute miles, run however long ya want, girl. What actually happened: LARGE AMOUNTS OF PAIN.

One mile in, I wanted to cry. My calf muscles are so incredibly sore they feel as if they are being ripped off of my legs. I’m surprised I even made it back home, completing two miles in about 17 minutes.

I’m assuming I’m still sore from Saturday’s 14k? I made it through five miles okay on Wednesday, but today my calves are TIGHT. Too tight to run through the pain.

Ugh. Back to work now. Hopefully some yoga will loosen me up this afternoon. I’m open to suggestions, thoughts, and recommendations.

8 Responses to “dealing with disappointment”

  1. yourdailygrace February 18, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Sorry! I had the calf ripping feeling once when my boyfriend decided it would be a great idea to run 4 miles on the beach barefoot. It wasn’t a great idea. I was in pain for the next week and stepped on a jellyfish. I’ve been sore from training for a half and the post run exercise here: http://www.iyogalife.com/runners/Yoga_for_Rookie_Runners.php has been very helpful!

    • cupcake dynamite February 18, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      Eek that sounds ROUGH!! Thank you I am definitely going to try this out!!!

  2. This Italian Family February 18, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I am so the same way with weather! I seriously crave the sunshine and warmth. All these crazy high February temps have made me SO happy!

    I’m so sorry that your run was so rough, though. :(

  3. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 18, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    stretch, ice, and elevate!

    I need you for our run tomorrow!! ;)

  4. movesnmunchies February 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    im sorry! sometimes our bodies just dont wnat to do what we DO… im sure it is soreness from the race.. just STRETCH and ice!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lucky Number Seven « yourdailygrace - February 19, 2011

    [...] crumbs because these babies are amazing! Join in on the fun! 1. Jamie or Courtney (or both?) at Cupcake Dynamite 2. Holley at Smart Snacking 3. Kara at It’s a dog lick baby world 4. Lisa at I’m an [...]

  2. weekend wonderful « cupcakedynamite - February 21, 2011

    [...] you for all of your suggestions on recovering from Friday’s running disappointment. I decided to take Saturday and Sunday off, only working out to a half hour of yoga on Saturday [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

