mah first macaroon

24 Mar

Today I said enough is enough, and decided once and for all I was going to try a macaroon.

I have been seriously confused, because all I see in the bloggie world are macaroons that look like this <— you know, the famous one’s Fitnessista is giving away for a cause if you donate – DO IT!!!

However, all I see in New York are macaroons that look like little mini whoopie pies. When I google imaged that ish, I saw mini whoopie pies, too! Further confusion ensued.

And then I was enlightened, *ahhhhh.* There are indeed different types of macaroons, originating from various regions. The macaroons I have been seeing are of the FRENCH variety. AH-HA! Cue the light bulb.. I’m NOT going crazy (…or maybe I am, just in other ways.)

Starting from the top – White chocolate, dark chocolate, and mocha-chino. (The guy is super nice and throws in extras! You can tell he is proud of them :))

I started with the dark chocolate. Totally didn’t taste how I expected. It’s got some crunch to it, but I was just thinking – whoopie pie, whoopie pie.

I finished off the dark choc-oh-lat and took a couple bites of the remaining two.

I think the white chocolate was my favorite, but I might be partial because of the bright blue color. I’m sure I’ll be revisiting the left overs later.

PS, I’m trying to convince Jamie we need a vacation to Vegas. Help me out here friends!!!!!! :D We can be our weird selves again and do ab exercises together in a house full of other people like it’s no big thang.

Seriously, that is exactly what happened in this picture. Our friend walked in on us working out and giggling with the door shut before we all headed to the beach a few years ago. Jamie’s post on ab exercises reminded me of our vacation sillyness and mutual-workout-strangeness. (Hey, if you do it right before you go your muscles look better…! ;)) I used this theory in college, too – doing weight(s) before I went out. (Okay okay, I’ll admit it before Jamie outs me – I only owned one weight and I alternated.)

my old roommate, my old weight, my old college me

13 Responses to “mah first macaroon”

  1. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 24, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    haha you crack me up that you used to use one weight to workout before a night out! I love it!

    And P.S. I was kind of confused about the whole macaroon situation too–so thanks for clearing that up!

    • cupcake dynamite March 24, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      I alternated!! hehe!! everyone that was over would always laugh at me – I had no filter for my work outs.

  2. Rach March 24, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Hahaha! Love that picture of you guys! So silly ;)

  3. movesnmunchies March 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    ahahaha cure pic!YEAH the macarooons im used to are the whoopie pie kind!

    • cupcake dynamite March 24, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

      thanks lady :D so confusing!!! they need to change their names or at least add a last name with a hyphen.

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) March 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Yeah I agree about the macroons. What.The.Heck.

    Go to Vegas right now. Mkay all convinced. ;)

  5. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 24, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I’ve tried that style of macaroons in Luxemberg. They called them ‘Luxembergli’. So good!

    • cupcake dynamite March 24, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      awww, at least they had a unique name. I’m sure they were awesome there!

  6. Jenny March 24, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    I would have totally chosen the blue macaroon too but I’m biased to white chocolate :) I don’t think it would be very hard to convince Jamie to go to Vegas! I’d go in a heartbeat haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. gymnastics mania !!!!! « cupcakedynamite - March 30, 2011

    [...] afternoon snack called for a green juice so of course these little guys snuck their way back into my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

