Archive | 9:48 pm

all you can eat sushi

27 Mar

Friday night I headed to New Ashiya in the East Village with a college friend who also lives in the city. It’s all you can eat sushi and all you can drink beer, wine, and sake for $33 for two hours. (I never know if anything actually sounds like a good deal anymore to non-NYers; I’m officially tainted.)

I’m pretty sure the staff assumes everyone is doing sake bombs because the first thing they bring over is a glass, a shot glass, chop sticks, and a pitcher of beer.

Unlimited sake bombs induces a lot of shouting, so don’t come here if you don’t want to feel like you’re back in a college fraternity house.

With that being said, I may have partaken in just a few ;) The way a sake bomb works is you bang the table so the sake falls into the beer. Every time I tried to bang the table my cup went untouched. I think I need to bump up my weight lifting…

I got the sweet potato roll, as well as the avocado & cucumber roll. At this place, you actually get charged extra if you order a ton of extra sushi, but don’t finish it. (Seriously, we saw people with like 5 plates at the end that they didn’t even touch.)

I’m not sure how I felt about the sweet potato roll – I almost felt as if the flavors didn’t mix well. I actually wound up ordering another cucumber & avocado roll. My friend’s roll had the coolest looking avocado slices on the outside! I was jealous.

Mmmmm, not the absolute best sushi I’ve had, but it was a fun time. It seems like a fantastic place for big groups! Everyone was having a blast and it’s really not a bad deal for NYC, especially if you’re someone who takes full advantage!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers