a real nature walk

28 Mar

Personally, I’ve always considered Sundays to be a day of rest. I hardly ever workout, and I instead take the time to wait tables at brunch (ugh) and hang with Danny (yay).

Yesterday our friend Taylor called us to tell us there was a whale washed up on the shores of Sandbridge, a local beach. We jumped at the chance to take a long walk (points for sneaking in fitness!) to search for the poor whale.

after a good amount of walking- our discovery!

So wild. I’ve never seen an animal so large in all my life. The whale made Crusier look like a chihuahua.

sad.. but peaceful

getting way too close for meeee

Tons of locals were on the beach to check out the scene. According to the news, the mammal is (or was..) a Sei whale, about 40 ft in length. While it is obviously sad to see any sea animal washed up on shore, it was such an experience to view the whale up close. Poor guy!

Tonight I’m heading back to the gym for a more traditional workout (ie no whale searches..) but I just had to share these pictures. Wild!

15 Responses to “a real nature walk”

  1. movesnmunchies March 28, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    OMG! thats so sad!!! but wow that whale is HUGE!

    • cupcake dynamite March 28, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      isn’t it sad!! everyone was respectful, it was so quiet and peaceful down there though. poor guy :(

  2. Alyssa March 28, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    I’m fully offended you didn’t tell me about the whale and/or invite me to go see!
    ;) kiddddiiinnggg. but STILL! I had no idea!

    • cupcake dynamite March 28, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      I SHOULD HAVE!!!!! We signed our lease for our oceanfront place and had Danny’s dad’s birthday dinner, my mind was in scrambles!

  3. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 28, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Oh my gosh, that’s crazy! But amazing at the same time! :)

    • cupcake dynamite March 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Exactly how I felt!! Sad- but at the same time these things happen and it was an experience to get so close!

  4. what katie's baking March 28, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    what the heck?! that’s the craziest thing ever… for real!!

    also, i’m jealous of the all you can eat sushi from the last post. i love sushi!

  5. mary (sisters running the kitchen) March 28, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    wow! I can’t believe that…that’s insane! I bet the whale was massive

  6. yourdailygrace March 28, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Aw that’s sad:( It didn’t die from washing up on shore did it? Or was it already dead and then washed up?

    • cupcake dynamite March 28, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Already dead then washed up :( I think a boat got it or something, no word yet. I just read that Sei whales are actually endangered.. nuts!

  7. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Aw, that’s so sad! I bet you’ll remember that image forever though!

  8. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 28, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Oh my goodness poor whale! RIP!

  9. Jenny March 29, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Omg how crazy! Definitely something to always remember

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the besttt sunday funday « cupcakedynamite - April 18, 2011

    [...] is usually my day of rest, like Jamie, however with 65 degrees & sunny on the forecast, and a boyfriend who actually agreed to run [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

