march’s mushroom risotto

31 Mar

I have to say – I stink at sharing recipes because I do everything from mah noggin. I rarely use a measuring cup/spoon – I’m more of a “eh, this looks right…” kinda girl.  However, I was kind of in love with the mushroom risotto with caramelized onions I made inspired by Oh She Glow’s recipe. Plus, I promised. ;) (So don’t be surprised if I don’t *always* tell you my measurements :))

My Ingredients:

  • 2 large yellow onions
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 package baby bella mushrooms*
  • thyme/other spices
  • chives
  • 1 cup pearled barely
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups white wine
  • ground pepper

*(I’d recommend 2 packages, instead!!)

1. Chop one of the onions, and add to a large skillet (one with a lid would work best!) with olive oil. (~1 tbsp!) Sautee for approximately five minutes, and then add the minced garlic.

2. While that’s cookin’, chop some more!! This time it’s your baby bellas. After about 10 minutes, add the mushrooms to the skillet.

3. Once the mushrooms are cooking for about 5 minutes, add the chives + other seasonings, then cook for another five minutes. (I just used whatever I had on hand, but Oh She Glow’s used a sprig of rosemary. Also, I don’t use salt when I cook, but if you do you should add it now!!)

4. Then, add the pearled barely (or whatever grain you choose!) and gradually add the vegetable broth and wine through out the cooking process so the grain can soak up the liquid at the right pace. Once it boils, cover it with a lid and STIR, STIR, STIR!!!

The vegetable broth I used:

The wine I drank while I was stirring added to the dish:

two buck chuck!!!! (also trader joe's)

5. In between constant stirring and wine drinking, make the caramelized onions using your other onion. (This was my first attempt and I’ll be honest – I’m not quite sure I got the hang of it.)

6. EAT!!! Top your risotto with black pepper and the caramelized onions!

On another note, I cannot believe tomorrow is April 1st!!! (Don’t forget to say your rabbit, rabbit’s.) Thank goodness, though – because April showers will bring May flowers..

from my sister's wedding last June

…and more importantly, baseball! ;)

Jamie & I with high school friends

And of course, baseball gives me a legitimate excuse to make Phillies themed cakes again. :D

15 Responses to “march’s mushroom risotto”

  1. sophia March 31, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    My pet peeve is people who get too uptight about precise recipes and measurements…that’s not what cooking is about! I also cook from my own estimates, and they usually turn out good….as it did for you! :-)

  2. dressed2dish April 1, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Your cakes looks so yummy they’re making me hungry! And I agree sipping on some good wine definitely makes cooking more fun!

    • cupcake dynamite April 1, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      me too! I love making fun cakes. wine is always the best :)

  3. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries April 1, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    YUM! Thanks for sharing that recipe. And I agree, I’m so glad it’s baseball season! I LOVE going to games! There’s nothing in the world like a ballpark hotdog :)

    • cupcake dynamite April 1, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      can’t say I’ve ever had one, but I love the nachos!! Always so much fun – I’m so excited!

  4. Alyssa April 1, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    GAH, I HAVE THAT SAME 2 BUCK CHUCK IN MY CABINET. ;)

  5. yourdailygrace April 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Wow that risotto looks to die for, I’m actually sort of hesitant to make any risottos because it seems like a lot of room for error? But any time you want to come to Orlando and make it for me that’d be cool:) My step dad is from Philly and he and my brother are obsessed with the Phillies. I went to come game a few summers ago but it was so hot that it wasn’t exactly enjoyable=/I love your Phillies cakes, I made a Phillies ice cream cake shaped like a baseball for one of my brothers birthdays!

  6. Jenny April 1, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    You made that cake? It’s so cute! Your risotto looks delicious, I’ve never had any.

    • cupcake dynamite April 1, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

      Yep!! Thank you :D I’ve also done some sponge bob cakes in my day… hehehe. Risotto is really good – try it sometime!!

  7. kimberley April 1, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    your cakes look so cute! I love making cakes/cupcakes for special occassions/themes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. parks & baseball « cupcakedynamite - April 4, 2011

    [...] I said, with April starting comes baseball season; so a good chunk of the rest of the weekend was spent [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

