sun is shining, weather is sweet

4 Apr

I am near ecstatic. It is 83 degrees in VA Beach today! Cheers to sunshine and warmth, I don’t even CARE that the weekend is over!!

ready to RUN, in my summer gear!

I’m so excited for today’s workout. Aside from a walk in the park, I took the weekend off from fitness and am excited to feel the burn today. I HIGHLY recommend rest days as a motivator- it sounds odd but time off always ignites my passion for running& the gym. I miss it when I take a break!

a weekend stroll to get movin', how pretty are these trees?

I’ve been neglecting my strength training lately, so this morning when I woke up I completed a round of ab exercises plus a “Lean Arms Pyramid” from some fitness idols of mine at Tone It Up.

Taken straight from the facebook fan page…

10 Push-ups (can be on knees!)
20 Dips (on edge of chair or bench)
30 Bicep Curls (light weights or water bottles)
40 Seconds Plank on hands
50 Tone It Up Tummy Tucks!!!
40 Seconds Plank on hands
30 Bicep Curls (light weights or water bottles)
20 Dips (on edge of chair or bench)
10 Push-ups (can be on knees!)

This REALLY worked my arms, much more so than I thought it would. If you’re interested in what a “Tummy Tuck” looks like, you can check it out here. I love little bursts of strength training like this- utilizing NEW exercises and putting your body through change is what creates change, in my opinion. ;)

I’m off to run- possibly on the boardwalk? I’ve got no plan on the distance or pace, I just want to feel the warm sun and enjoy the fresh air.

18 Responses to “sun is shining, weather is sweet”

  1. Lauren April 4, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Rest days are the best motivators ever. I seriously crave a good run after a rest day. I’m jealous of your sun and warm weather. We had two days of 75* weather followed by snow. Grr, Colorado!

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      That’s crazy, such a tease! I’ve heard Colorado is beautiful, though! Probably worth it :)

  2. Jenny April 4, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I love a good strength training day. Today was full on weights so I am feeling great! :D Our weather is incredibly hot here too! Yesterday I went to the beach and it was fabulous ;)

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      AHH so nice, a little taste of summmmer!!! :D I wanted to go today but it was SO windy!

  3. getalivingsense April 4, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    I love to work out my arms, so that workout is perfect! I’ll have to give it a try :)

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Yes, let me know if you do! I liked it, it was quick but I definitely felt it.. especially the dips!

  4. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 4, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Rest days are great motivators! I didn’t workout over the weekend, so I’m ready to go tonight. I’m jealous of your warm weather..it’s still rainy and chilly here!

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Boo, hopefully it’ll clear up soon! The nice weather definitely made my monday better! Hooray for great workouts today!

  5. mego@watchmegorun April 4, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    so jealous of your awesome weather! I would kill for that right now

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      i’m lovin’ it! It’s a tease living so close to the beach when it’s too chilly for a bikini!

  6. yourdailygrace April 4, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    I love running in pretty weather!

  7. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 4, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    I’m jealous of your weather (still 2 feet of snow here) and of your work out! You are so right about rest days, they fire me up too.

  8. Peggy April 5, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Sunny weather always makes me want to run too! It’s kind of chilly today, so I guess I’ll just have to settle for a Zumba class =)

    • cupcake dynamite April 5, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      I haven’t tried zumba yet- i love dancing so i definitely need to go to a class soon!

  9. Alyssa April 5, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    OOH, I like this! I’m gonna try.

    ..and make up for my peewee rough run yesterday. gaaaah.

    • cupcake dynamite April 5, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

      RIGHT! I ellipticalled it uppppp! That run was rough- the win+pollen was soooo bad.

  10. This Italian Family April 5, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I’m jealous of your 83 degrees! It’s 60 here, but supposed to be up in the high 70s by the end of the week. I am SO ready for it! :)

  11. nina April 5, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    just want to say that your blog layout…SO CUTE!!!! ^.^

    o0o0 i also wanted to let you know that I’m hosting a RAD giveaway! I’m giving away a HYPSTER BIKINI…they are one of a kind, and you def. wont find anyone rocking one of’em because they are brand new!! check out my blog 4 pictures & deets! it’ll be love at first sight, i promise!hehehe<3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

