may firsts

2 May

While it is only May 2nd, May is already full of firsts. For starts, Sunday was my verrry first visit to Central Park since moving here. Seriously, I know. Who am I? November to April are very cold months, mmk? I headed to CP for a blogger meet up (also a first!) which was co-coordinated by one of my new NYC favorites, Christine! yippie!!! :D Check out {av} at Long Distance Loving for an awesome recap and all the lovely bloggies I met! :)

After wards, I decided to soak up a little more of the park and continue re-reading Something Borrowed to get ready for Friday Wednesday – my roommate & I are two lucky ladies who get to go to an early PopSugar premiere! Awesome, but only two days left to finish! I can’t even express how excited I am, s0 more on that later. !!!!!

Danny met me a little while later and we found the row boats! dun, dun, dun. I’ve been waiting ages to ride these. :D

I think anyone will tell you the truth, the row boats usually consist of a girl taking pictures, and a guy rowing – we were no expection. ;) Full disclosure: Danny is now complaining of blisters on his hands. Tread with caution, ladies. This boat ride comes with a price.

Monday’s first? Baked By Melissa finally opened near my work!!! Of course, I went. Of.course.

My choices: Tye Dye, Mint Chocolate Chip, and the flavor of the month, Strawberry. Just in case you’re dying to know my cupcake strategy – I need to take a bite of each, then I can decide what order to eat them. Finished with the Strawberry. Think that tells you how good it was… ;)

My least favorite May first? Sunburn. I’ve got sunburn on my knees and wrists. Yep, a lovely sunburn line of my watch. I’m so cool. New York, what have you done to me? My skin didn’t seem to know what the sun was and I can’t remember the last time I actually got sun burn, randomly like this. Note to self: don’t sit cross legged on a rock in Central Park unless you want really really beautiful knee sunburns. I feel 8.

31 Responses to “may firsts”

  1. Lauren Goodwin May 2, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    You’re so lucky! The Popsugar screening was sold out by the time I looked. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the movie!

  2. Leanna May 2, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    I love Baked by Melissa! You should give the peanut butter and chocolate cupcake a try sometime.

  3. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 3, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    The row boats look like fun! We have a paddle boat rental here, downtown on the canal, and it is actually less relaxing than it looks. They only give you an hour to get around the three mile canal, and those things don’t go very fast unless the people in them are pedaling like crazy :)!

    • cupcake dynamite May 4, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      hehe that would definitely be less relaxing because I didn’t have to do a thannnng.

  4. Kimberley May 3, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Ahhhh all those cupcakes look amazing (esp the tye dye ahhhh) and the view in your pictures looks beautiful girl– I am totally jealous! esp of the weather :)

  5. owlmazing May 3, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I neeed a cupcake store like that in my life. I would totally eat my cupcakes in the exact same way as you haha, you need to sample each flavor and finish with the best!!

  6. cupcake dynamite May 3, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    How did you even eat those cupcakes they are too PRETTY! GAH! -jamie

  7. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 3, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    I need a cupcake store like that too. Holy Moly. I would have chosen the tye dye one because it’s crazy like me. bahaha.

    Your May 1&2 will probably trump my entire May ha.

    • cupcake dynamite May 3, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      bahahah, I doubt it since you get to head back to VA beach soon, right?!

  8. fashionfitnessfoodie May 3, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Love those cupcakes!!! I have sunburn on my cheeks, and now I’m peeling – awesome!

  9. Alyssa May 3, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    ahah;augrnrjacurn. I’m so excited for the something borrowed movie to come out. it’s my ALLLLL-TIME fave book. gah!

    • cupcake dynamite May 3, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      ME TOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! I can’t even tell you how many times I watched the trailer and when my roommate told me we won I screamed.

  10. Lauren May 3, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Okay, I just realized this but do you and Jamie both have boyfriends named Danny?? This is so confusing :P Anyways, those cupcakes are too cute. I’m a sucker for mini food.

    • cupcake dynamite May 3, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      YES, we do! Sorry we’re so confusing – blame Jamie, I had mine first. :P God forbid one of us actually dated one who went by “Dan” instead. ;)

  11. Christine May 3, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    soooo great to meet you!!! i’ve done the rowboats before and it was so fun/hilarious. let’s meet up again soon! xx.christine

  12. Livvy May 3, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Your blog is too cute!! I’m so happy that I found you and can’t wait to read more:) The strawberry mini cupcake looks absolutely DELICIOUS and I love your cupcake eating strategy…pretty much the exact same as mine! (gotta save the best for last!) Love your blog!

    • cupcake dynamite May 3, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      AWWW, thank you so much!! Happy you found us! Saving the best for last is always a fantastic strategy, I guess :)

  13. yourdailygrace May 3, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Wow! You have been busy! I got to see The Green Hornet early and I felt pretty special, they make you physically turn off your cell phone and have someone in theatre watching the audience the whole time so no one records it I guess..they meant business. The pictures from your boat ride look beautiful and those cupcakes look scrumptious!

  14. Rach @ This Italian Family May 3, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Looks like you’ve had such a great time lately! :) Those cupcakes look fabulous and the row boating looks like fun!

    I still need to read that Something Borrowed book! Adding it to my list of books to read now! :)

  15. Jenny May 3, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Those cupcakes look amazing! I’m on the lookout for that book too. I think it would be nice to read before watching the movie :D

    • cupcake dynamite May 4, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      its my second time reading it so I definitely recommend it. Something Blue (which is the sequel) and some of her other books are actually better!

  16. mego@watchmegorun May 3, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    gahhh I can’t wait to see something borrowed I hope its good! Those cupcakes look delicious and I can’t believe this was your first time in CP…love love love!

  17. Heather (All Sizzle) May 4, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Ah, I always get a sunburn in Spring. The sun sneaks up on you I swear!

  18. Jessica May 5, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    You’re so cute, I’m so glad I found your blog!
    First of all…you JUST NOW got to Central Park!!?! That’s my fav! Secondly, I’m so jealous you’re going to the premier for Something Borrowed, I own the book too and we’re going Friday to see it for my roommates birthday! Lastly, I totally need to try those Baked by Melissa cakes. Which flavors are best?

    • cupcake dynamite May 5, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

      awww, thank you!! I’m glad too :) I knowww I’m outrageous, I’m definitely going all the time now!! I liked all the flavors I got, this is actually only my second time going (first at this location!) so I’m no expert but will probably be soon since it’s so close to work :D

  19. getalivingsense May 5, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I loved that book! And can’t wait to see the movie! Also loveee Baked by Melissa – so jealous there is one right near you!!!

  20. Tara May 5, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Rowing in boats sounds like fun, blisters do not. I’m glad you don’t have to suffer from them!
    I love any and all things mini. I recently went to a cupcake shop and was devestated that they didn’t have mini ones! The tye die flavor seems pretty cool to me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. run girl, run « cupcakedynamite - May 22, 2011

    [...] and since it’s quickly coming to an end, I bring you… my running essentials! After a blog meet up in Central Park a few weeks ago, I have been excited to try out Polyvore for myself (especially [...]

  2. run girl, run « cupcakedynamite - May 23, 2011

    [...] it’s quickly coming to an end (CRAZY!!!), I bring you… my running essentials! After a blog meet up in Central Park a few weeks ago, I have been excited to try out Polyvore for myself (especially [...]

  3. one year « cupcakedynamite - November 8, 2011

    [...] you don’t want to visit again, J? ) Along with the Highline, fireworks on a rooftop, the boats in Central Park, & Eataly just to name a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

