half day

21 Jul

Yesterday I was lucky enough to take a mid-week half day (ghfjagjdf.. WOO!) because my mom was coming to visit.

We started off with my apartment for a veggie drop off (more from my dad’s garden.. Including Jersey tomatoes this time!! yesss) and to show her my rooftop.

We then headed to BLT bar & grill for lunch. I picked it because it was pretty close to where my mom wanted to go after and they had a mushroom pappardelle and panini on their restaurant week lunch menu.

20110721-122747.jpg

Unfortunately, the menu didn’t match up, even though I was disappointed, I didn’t fret because the panini was still on the regular menu and there was a veggie pasta on the restaurant week menu.

20110721-011800.jpg

I picked the restaurant week menu, because I really wanted the chopped salad with my meal. Just ONE thing to eat? How absurd.. ;)

20110721-011810.jpg

Tons of hidden veggies!!

My main meal was the veggie pasta. 20110721-011918.jpg

It was nothin too too special, but still good nonetheless!!

20110721-011924.jpg

mah view minus the motha

20110721-011930.jpg

mom's view, teehee

Last up, dessert!

20110721-011936.jpg

Basil Panna Cotta with raspberry

mmm, gotta love having dessert during the middle of the day! After walking around the Ground Zero area to see the progress, we decided to take the ferry to 34th Street. I was excited because of the awesome experience Danny and I had, not to mention the amazing pictures.

20110721-011944.jpg
Well, there’s our one picture. There was NO top deck on this ferry! What a jip. My mom said she still enjoyed it! We had a long walk back to my mom’s bus, including some views of this guy. The later bus times were sold out, so we were a bit rushed, but still fun to walk around all day and have her here!

20110721-011951.jpg

My legs were a little tired from all the walking, but my roommate and I did a short run and some how (might have been my influence… ;)) ended it at Red Mango. By the time we got back, my masterpiece was mostly eaten and melty, so I’ll leave you with this piece of advice.

20110721-011957.jpg

3 Responses to “half day”

  1. Jenny July 21, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    The veggie pasta looks delicious. The dessert definitely looks amazing too :)

  2. fashionfitnessfoodie July 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    im going to restaurant week tomorrow night!!! trying out smith and wollenskys.. I love that your run ended up being at red mango :)

    • cupcake dynamite July 21, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      ahh you’ll have to let me know how it is!! YEP, even put $10 in my little pocket, LOL. I just knew..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

