burnout (and a habit kicked)

6 Sep

Hello pumpkins! I hope y’all had a super fantastic weekend. I spent mine at the first UVA football game of the season+kept up with my usual habit of partying at the beach. Amazing, fun, and sleepless as usual.

tailgating fun

One thing I gave up from Thursday-Sunday? THE GYM. Last Thursday I hit the gym and felt completely fatigued. After 10 minutes on the elliptical I felt hot and weird (almost feverish) and left the gym. I was so bummed on my walk home about my less than stellar workout and decided I’d give myself a scheduled break.

Four days in a row, no gym, no running, just living like (…the majority of Americans?..) do- without exercise. It felt GOOD. Monday morning I HIIT ;) the gym for some intervals and heavy upper body weights with way more energy than I’ve had in AWHILE. I was proud of myself for really listening to my body and resting. Lately I’ve been working out M-F with weekends off from fitness but I really think four days seems to treat me better…Wednesday rest days it is..?

old rest day with courtney, captured on film.

Burnout sucks and I’d really like to prevent it. While I’m not one to compare myself to others much, I think that reading blogs has warped my idea of what an efficient exercise schedule can be. Some can hard every day- but I need more rest than that.

Something else I’ve officially given up? Counting calories.

As per conclusion to my kick the habit experiment:

I quit counting calories, and nothing awful happened (unless you count a hurricane and an earthquake..). My jeans still fit, I’m still a happy girl. I didn’t weight myself prior to quitting vs. now because I didn’t want it to be about that. I eat BETTER, more wholesome foods rather than junk to help me fill up an appropriate “number”. I (ALMOST) don’t think about food before my stomach does and I eat accordingly. (Unless you count a 2AM taco bell run..) All in -all, success feels good.

4 Responses to “burnout (and a habit kicked)”

  1. Liz @ Southern Charm September 7, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    I absolutely love this post. Good for you! Isn’t it funny how we actually eat better when we stop counting versus when we do, so we feel the need to fill them?

    Lately, I’ve been in the same boat with the whole gym thing. Your idea of taking of Wednesdays (or Tuesdays for this week) is what I’ve been doing the last few weeks. I love it! It really give you that break instead of 5 days of straight working out.

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss September 7, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    YEAH, GIIIIIIRL.

    way to kick. that. habit. ;) I’m prouda you. aand how about rest day yoga? yeah? does that defeat the purpose of rest day? hahah.

    • Alyssa @ Life of bLyss September 7, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      people who don’t know we hit the gym together probably think I’m some psycho jerk who is telling you to not take a rest day. I SWEAR THAT’S NOT MY INTENT. I JUST LIKE TO BE WITH HER AT ALL TIMES.

  3. Lauren September 8, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    The blog world kind of warps our perception of what a normal workout schedule is. I don’t know anyone in real life who works out as much as everyone in the blog world does. It’s okay to take a few days off. Way to kick that habit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

