Archive | 9:37 am

Paleo&Fitness, 100 Day Challenege

5 Oct

Hey friends! First of all: if you haven’t tried the cake vodka yet.. DO IT. No mixer or chaser necessary, it tastes like liquid icing and I don’t even enjoy vodka. (I drink it, but I don’t particularly like it- more of a bourbon/wine/beer girl. Oops?)

I got a few questions regarding the challenge at my gym so I thought I’d explain it in further detail! Apparently I’m only on day 17. Womp womp. The challenge lasts 100 days and it is basically a push to be the fittest you can be and healthiest in all aspects of life.

thanks, pinterest

The Fitness:

Two days a week (M&W) I have  hour long group training sessions. We do circuits involving heavy lifting, plyometrics, and even strange balance activities. (When you live at the beach and have surfers for trainers you find yourself kneeling on a ball, wiggling, and trying not to fall over.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I go to a spin circuit class- and man it is INTENSE. The hardest fitness class I’ve ever been too but I feel like a rock star when I’m done. It’s basically 5 circuits ( 2 spinning -the instructor coaches you as if you’re in a spin class- 1 TRX station, and two stations involving workouts with dumbbells, medicine balls, etc.). It’s wild. The first day I wanted to cry but I’m approaching my 6th class and feeling stronger.)

On Fridays I’ve been instructed to stick with my long runs since I am training for The Surfin’ Santa 10 miler. I’ve been running one other day during the week if I have time, usually a short 3-4 mile boardwalk run on a M or W.

Saturdays I am supposed to go to yoga or any class at the gym that I want- usually I sleep in and go to breakfast with Danny.

Sundays, I rest.

The Diet:

I haven’t been following the suggested meal plan to a T, but I have been sticking with Paleo unless you count Saturday when I drank like 80 beers and ate 3 pieces of pizza and then passed out with the worst stomach ache of my life.

Aside from that- I love Paleo. I am the queen of getting on various kicks and then kicking them to the curb, but for now Paleo works. I’ve always had issues with acne and break outs, and for over the past two weeks my skin has been uncharacteristically clear. I also struggle with migraines, and I am hoping that cutting out the sugar and dairy will really help with my head.

If you read all of this- you are a champion! This is the challenge in a nutshell, and so far so good! I am fortunate enough to be able to work from home and get in all of the above workouts on my hour lunch break…definite bonus.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers