one year

8 Nov

Yesterday marks a very special anniversary of mine – one year and one day ago, I made the move to New York City to live with a [then] stranger and start an entirely new career. Woah.

uh, yeah, I live here.

I actually moved in the day of the NYC Marathon last year, so it meant a lot to me to watch it this year. Although a spectator’s version of the NYCM is not quite as exciting as say, someone who was running it, I have to say – the energy in New York on the day of the race was electric. The energy in NYC always feels electric, but on Sunday it was a positive happy electricity. Everyone was rooting for one another and no one was giving dirty looks because someone stole the other person’s spot on the subway.

We usually keep to ourselves in the city, unless it’s to call someone out on stepping on your shoe or bumping into you with an umbrella, but on race day there was no holding back for shouting stranger’s names and cheering them on.

I’m sad to say I didn’t get to see anyone I knew! I’m easily distracted and nearly blind but was super disappointed not to at least see Susan zooming by! Congrats to all, though!

In terms of my one year relationship with New York, I decided to start a bucket list. Not that I plan on leaving any time soon; but it’s really hard not to get caught up with your every day problems and forget how amazing it is to be in your 20′s and living in the greatest city in the world. Whenever a bad day gets me down, I just look up and remind myself “Wow; I’m living a life in a city some people only get to dream about and watch on their tv’s. I am so lucky.” Of course in the movies, the work day is a montage and not nearly as long so reiterating the I am so lucky in your head is really important. And don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to lie or fake it – I’m totally not some chipper girl all the time: sometimes the subway makes me feel like I’m going to vomit, and/or I get so angry my ears get hot, but the least you can do appreciate the city you live in on occasion before the novelty wears off. ;)

Central Park :)

So here’s my little baby! It’s a growing list so I’d love suggestions and of course new friends to check off items along the way. :)

Side note: I like to add some things I’ve already done even though of course it’s missing a big chunk. I had a life crisis after watching The Buried Life on MTV, but then I made a mental list of all the cool things I’ve done in life and I felt a lot better because while there was a ton of interesting things I haven’t done, there’s a heck of a lot I have that I was totally missing.

…. like eating at PB&co with Jamie. (Sure you don’t want to visit again, J? ;)) Along with the Highline, fireworks on a rooftop, the boats in Central Park, & Eataly just to name a few.

xoxo, courtney

16 Responses to “one year”

  1. Susan - Nurse on the Run November 9, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Happy New Yorkiversary! You and Shannon (from Tropical Eats) have the same anniversary. :) How fun! I can’t believe we’ve been here a year…time is flying! We’re so lucky to live here……I go back home and visit my friends who have houses in the suburbs, and I realize just how great it is to be in this city. We may not have four bedrooms and two huge living rooms, but we have so much great stuff right down the street.

    The marathon is SUCH a great day in the city, and it’s really fun to spectate as well as run! (Although running might have been better…) Sorry I missed you out there, although at one point I was running behind a guy in a costume your boyfriend probably did spot me!

    Let me know if you need a friend for PB&Co or Chelsea Brewery or any other New York-y type things…I still feel new here and need to do a lot! Let’s hang soon!

    • cupcake dynamite November 9, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

      I’m behind in the blog world (especially the NYC one) so thank you for pointing her out to me!! It’s so true about the suburbs compared to the city even though we have less living space we have the whole city in addition! Yes… we definitely need to go out and experience this lovely city while we can!! I’m sure you could use some beers after the marathon

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss November 9, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    YOU CAN EAT ATTTT PB&CO?!?! i didn’t know they had a restaurant! omgosh.

    • cupcake dynamite November 9, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      yes OF COURSE! Jamie & I have nerdy tourist pictures standing in front of it too!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) November 9, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Oh my gawwwdd. I didn’t know PB and Co had a restaurant. I’m coming to visit k thanks.

  4. Shannon [Tropical Eats] November 9, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    aaaaand we are now going to be new best friends thanks to susan. :)

    Happy belated NYC Anniversary! Can you believe how quickly it went by?? Craziness.

    Bucket lists are seriously the best things ever. This year I need to see the Macy’s balloons getting inflated the night before Thxgiving! Operation Bucket List time.

    • cupcake dynamite November 15, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      I’m so glad she did it!! :) I forgot about the Thanksgiving balloons!! I’ve heard it’s a ball. You’ll have so much fun… I’ll be home already, boo!

  5. The Sometimes Healthy Girl November 10, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Congrats on your New-York-a-Versary! It’s a big deal and something you should certainly celebrate. I wrote a gigantic, self-indulgent post on my 2-year New-York-a-Versary. This city is TOUGH and if you can make it here you really can make it anywhere…but why would you want to go anywhere else? (I read that last part somewhere but thought it was brilliant so it stuck with me).

    Anyway, love the bucket list. I want to start one for NYC as well, but of course, like everything else, I’m a little behind. Congrats again to you. Love your blog :-)

    • cupcake dynamite November 15, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      It is so is brilliant. Don’t worry – you can share mine. ;)

  6. Lauren November 10, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I feel like forwarding this post to my good friend who is dying to move to NY. If you both live there, I have such a good excuse to visit!

    • cupcake dynamite November 11, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      You should!!! I was literally dying before I made the move too. No regrets. :)

  7. blondiebakesandbikes November 14, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    just found your blog!!! i love it! can’t wait to read more!

  8. alyssa - fashion fitness foodie November 16, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    You just reminded me i need to go to pb & co!!!

    there are sooo many things to do up here that really you wouldnt get them all done unless you did make a bucket list!

  9. Jocelyn November 16, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    I just found your blog and I love it! Can’t wait to read more!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. three things thursday.. (times two) « cupcakedynamite - November 17, 2011

    [...] We accidentally walked through the Central Park Zoo. And I did see a seal. Does this count? [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

