yoga&taxes

2 Feb

Today, I am sad. An I-was-caught-pouting-out-the-window-on-the-way-home-from-the-bank-sad.

About mid-December, I landed my first “big-girl” marketing job, my introduction to real life. I was PSYCHED. I am STILL PSYCHED. After two years of post-college job searching, I had finally found something that put my degree to good use!

I picked up my first check this morning.. and reality hit. Where did all my money go? Taxes. Pout. This is the real world. After brushing it off, realizing I have an awesome job, and complaining to my mom (“I thought they’d take like.. eighty dollars!”) I felt ten times better.

And remember the seventy-one degree weather I was pumped for? Seventy-three! Today I ate frozen yogurt outdoors and ran in a t-shirt.

Danny and I took an afternoon work break to Skinny Dip. No, we didn’t swim naked in the Atlantic, we ate frozen yogurt!

muchas fruit

I chose a mixture of coconut, dark chocolate, & red velvet yogurt, topped with TONS of pineapple, strawberries, blackberries, and a hint of peanut-buttery chocolate goodness.

"get me AND my yogurt!'

The part of my day I was most excited for: A run in the sun. Just me, my i-pod, and the pavement. Please excuse my baby-powdered head. Powdered bangs or greasy bangs, I had to make a choice.

My running as of late.. has been ROUGH. I blame this on my hatred for cold weather and treadmills. I almost didn’t even want to get out there today, but I am so glad I did. Today’s run reminded me of how much I ENJOY the sport. Although my legs were slow and lazy the first mile, the last two felt great. The only reason I headed back so soon was because it began to get dark, and I am chicken smart.

STATS! STATS! STATS! STATS! STATS!

I took the run easy, and enjoyed how great and alive my body felt. At one point, I passed a couple walking.. they smiled and said hello, and I smiled back then accidentally spit on them in return.

After I picked up my check today I said, “tonight I’m going to do yoga to relax and think about my taxes.” This is still my plan, although I’d like to do yoga (trying out Jillian Michael’s DVD for the first time) and think about cupcakes, Valentine’s Day, John Stamos, and forever 21 instead. My mind never rests. Cheers!

6 Responses to “yoga&taxes”

  1. Cait February 2, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    wow what a combo of yogurt goodness! nom nom nom!

  2. Mary (Sisters Running the Kitchen) February 3, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    sounds like a fun day Jamie! congrats on getting a job in your field. It’s tough out there, I’m currently looking for a teaching job…which is nearly impossible to find. Love your yogurt concoction…the pb cubs are def. necessary. andddd I’m so jealous of the weather you had! I can’t wait for spring weather.

    • cupcake dynamite February 3, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      Thanks Mary! Ugh I hear you, good luck! Hopefully more jobs will begin to open up soon.. it’s frustrating but you cherish it that much more when you finally get what you’ve been working so hard for! It was SO WARM..but a fluke..today it’s back to 40. haha!

  3. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 3, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    okay, new plan. a vb run… followed by a trip to skinny dip. my FAVE! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. an ice cream a day.. « cupcakedynamite - March 9, 2011

    […] when I was offered a special family trip to Skinny Dip- my favorite local fro-yo bar, I COULD NOT RESIST. the happy […]

Leave a Reply

