sushi tushi

8 Feb

I did it. Despite the mental assurance that I am completely ready, last night I registered for my first 14k Virginia is for Lovers.. this Saturday. RAH! I keep telling myself I will take it easy (it’s “ONLY” eight miles!) and simply ENJOY the run.

This morning, reality hit me like a ton of bricks. I set out on an easy five mile run (no attention to pace, just make it girl) and on the third mile in, my shins HURT.

This could mean that:

A) My Kim K. J-Lo rear is far too large to be supported by my little legs and I should never run again or

B) I NEED NEW SNEAKS.

I’m gonna go with B. It’s been the same since I started this running game. Every three months, my shins ache. I replace my sneaks, and I’m golden. If I had a money tree, I’d be cool with this. The fact that the race is THIS Saturday and new sneaks aren’t in my budget.. makes my heart beat a little too fast.

I’m going to test out my obvious scientific theory again tomorrow (thesis: worn out sneaks+running=pain) and see if I can count my pennies and quarters to invest in a new pair. I’m going to be the nicest wildest re-filling your drinks waitress the world will see this week.

Anyway, since I am too stingy to purchase new sneakers I went out to lunch and bought expensive sushi at Volcano instead. Props to Danny on the Edamame (“We’d like some..Ed-ee-ma? ma?”) Valid low-cal protein source.

beans, beans, good for your heart!

And props to the head sushi chef on creating this adorable lunch box that consisted of crab sushi, shrimp tempura sushi (AH FRIED), rice, and salad with incredible ginger dressing.

almost toy-like

Almost too cute to eat! I don’t know what it is about Virginia Beach, but I’ve noticed all restaurants here seem super creative (and sometimes a bit raunchy) in the naming of their foods. The specials at Volcano today: “A Golden Fantasy” and “Sex in the City”. I can’t tell you what they are, because I was sitting far from the board and I am blind as a bat.

After sushi, I felt the need to stop (surprise, surprise) for some CANDY. Through this photo I’ll pay tribute to my speedy running bloggy idol Janae.

SKITTLES BLENDERS.

Pretty much an easy marketing gimmick for the skittles company (let’s take our current flavors and blend a ton of them up to create a brand new bag)… and I fell for it. I’m not ashamed.

In a post-work attempt to stretch out my body, I headed over to a local yoga studio at 6:30 to drop in on a Warm Yoga class. I’ve been meaning to try out “Warm” yoga rather than my occasional “Hot” class, as I am a yoga newbie and need more time to learn the names of the poses.

I mixed up the times… class had actually started at 6:15! I was so bummed… the nice guy at the desk told me to go on in, but yoga seems like a class that you can’t just barge in late on. I felt too rude to intrude and peaced out, opting for my Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD instead.

IT FELT SO GOOD. I’ve decided a month late that it is my New Years Resolution, or future life goal, to incorporate more yoga into my days.

Time to lay back, slurp down bottles of H2O that I’ve been neglecting (I lead a wild life) and wait for my UPS man (Danny’s job, I’m not cheating with the delivery guy) to get home.

6 Responses to “sushi tushi”

  1. yourdailygrace February 8, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    I got a running shoe fitting today! It wasn’t cheap but I’m hoping it’ll fix my running pains!

    • cupcake dynamite February 9, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      Ah that sounds so nice!! (The shoe fitting, not the pains!;)) What brand are you wearing? I’m usually in to Nike but I might branch out!

      -jamie

      • yourdailygrace February 17, 2011 at 7:22 am #

        They put me in a pair of Brooks and so far s good! At first it was weird because I have super high arches and was never getting arch support so it felt odd to have it there.

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 9, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    ASICS, all the way! I have skinny feet with high arches, so I neeed those asics. DSW usually has them pretty cheap, too! hit up lynnhaven. šŸ™‚

    I STILL have yet to try yoga. I just think I’d be bored!

    • cupcake dynamite February 9, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      EEEEEEEEE really good idea i’ll check it out!!! COME WITH MEEEEEEE!! you won’t get bored- if i don’t, you won’t..i have the shortest attention span!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. power foods & youtube yoga « cupcakedynamite - February 16, 2011

    […] 3 classes-for-$9 coupon from Lifebooker, but apparently Jamie & I are both unfortunate with the details of our yoga classes. We didn’t realize the coupon stated you had to email 24 hours in […]

Leave a Reply

