Burger + Barrel

9 Feb

Last night I headed to Burger + Barrel in Soho for a friend’s birthday dinner. (A tiny lesson for non-New Yorkers:  Soho = South of Houston Street & Houston is pronounced like “House – ton” contrary to my popular belief that it was pronounced like the city in Texas.)

Obviously, this was not taken in the winter 😉

It was a birthday celebration, the place looked really awesome and I had heard raves about their tater tots,  so how could I not have been excited?!

The insides!

(Photos Courtesy of Burger + Barrel)

The menu had a lot of burgers that sounded mouth-watering, if I ate burgers that is… 🙂 They actually had a veggie burger, but I wasn’t in the mood so I ordered the Baby Greens Salad with  roasted shiitake,  grilled asparagus, tomatoes, marcona almonds, & aged sherry vinaigrette. Secretly, I knew that would leave more room for the tater tots, too 🙂

Baby greens & baby shiitakes

The salad was alright, but the main event was definitely the TOTS.

TOTTTTTTTS!!!!!

These were the absolute perfect amount of crispy and baked with rosemary + all kinds of other seasonings that I swear seemed to be INSIDE the tot’s. (Is that even possible?) AMAZING. I didn’t know tater tot’s could get any better than they already were in elementary school, but these are definitely adult-oriented tot’s. 🙂 (PS, the website is outdated & doesn’t even mention tater tots if you got as worried as I did when you looked.)

I asked the waitress if she could bring a dessert with a candle and sing happy birthday. “Uh, we do not sing here” sounded more like “Uh, you’re not at TGIFriday’s, kid.” She insisted on bringing the dessert menu’s first and putting a candle in whatever he ordered. Silly. But he was still surprised & ecstatic when there was a candle in his dessert and despite the no singing policy all his friends sang anyway. Everyone should be sang to on their birthday – everyone!

Salty Peanut Butter Brownie Sundae

To thank us – he was generous enough to let us have a few bites 😀 A couple other people got a S’mores pie which looked delicious, but I think next time I’d have to go for the Carmel Twist – Spiked Shake which is Vanilla Ice Cream, Makers Mark Bourbon blended with caramel sauce. I may or may not foresee a second trip that involves just tots & a spiked shake. 😉

7 Responses to “Burger + Barrel”

  1. cupcake dynamite February 9, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    LOL my restaurant is the same when i asked everyone if we sang they looked at me THE EXACT SAME WAY. LOVE YOU those tots look better than the tots we ate in high school 😀

    -Jamie

  2. yourdailygrace February 9, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I love potato in any form so the tots look delish! and a s’more pit sounds fabulous!

  3. TheNewHealthy February 10, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    I haven’t had tater tots in soo long! Hmm, I should make sweet potato tots!! Yum! 🙂

  4. mealsformiles February 10, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    ooh, I’ve never been there but it looks delicious! Tater tots remind me of my mom, because it was the only thing she could “cook” for us growing up that tasted good and that we would eat. oh, memories. Love the blog 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite February 10, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      Awww, how cute!! Thank you we’re so excited to keep it going!! 😀

Leave a Reply

