happy day

15 Feb

I have to say I’ve never been big on Valentine’s Day traditions – HATE roses, but yesterday and all weekend people everywhere in New York City were carrying flowers. It was refreshing to see guys with looks of nervousness and the smiles on girl’s faces as they were carrying their flowers back home. The happiness & bright colors were a fantastic change to this angry (it’s true) & dreary city and it put me in a good mood, so whattya say V-day, I might actually like you.

I celebrated the day with some of my favorite things – a bottle of wine, Italian food, and Danny! (…in no specific order, ;))

The wine. We got a bottle of Pinot Grigio!! We don’t usually get bottles of wine while we’re out, but I guess I’m pretty convincing. 🙂

Pino!

The Italian Food. We started with an appetizer of Mushroom Caps filled with Gorgonzola, fior di latte, and breadcrumbs (Fior di latte = Mozzarella; I googled it.. I’m known to do this as I get nervous places have fancy names for meat) and some bread with oil & balsamic for dipping.

'Shroooommms

Side note, this picture caused a lot of controversy !! I should start by saying we were literally ON TOP of the couple next to us. First, I pulled out my camera, and while it wasn’t working properly and I was playing with it, he goes to his date “why do people feel the need to take pictures in restaurants now?!?! Blah blah blah, my memories are in my head” (<— See! Angry city!) and then when I gave up and used my iPhone camera – which I had NO IDEA had such a bright flash – he shouted at me “CHYEAH THAT WAS BRIGHT, JEEZ LIT UP THE WHOLE RESTAURANT.” Oops? 🙂 Maybe it was my lesson to him that he needed to lighten up…. get it?!?! (Oh man, I’m so funny…) From here on out pictures were taken on my iPhone, SANS flash so I apologize ahead of time!

The Flash Culprit

For my entrée, I got the rigatoni with tomato, eggplant, basil, and ricotta. I liked it, a lot! But I don’t know if there is a pasta I don’t love.

Cheesy Rigatoni 🙂

The Danny. I had to get proof he actually ate a green vegetable. (We’re completely opposite in this regard!)

Spinaaaach!

The end. The restaurant, bar baresco surprised us with two more glasses of more wine (but smelled like brandy?) See stranger, pays to be nice & take pictures. 😉

Cheers to a super fun date!

Tonight, I’m excited to relax at home with a run & my own cooking since the rest of the week’s workout plans include yoga & kick-boxing classes! Oh, and I’ll get to hang out with these pretty little things. 🙂

yippie! NOT roses! 😀

6 Responses to “happy day”

  1. movesnmunchies February 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    looks like a blast!! and such a yummy dinner!!

  2. This Italian Family February 15, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Gorgeous flowers! Looks like you had such a fun time! 🙂

  3. mary (sisters running the kitchen) February 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I can’t believe how rude that guy was!! hahaha that’s a funny story though. Looks like you guys had a great time regardless and your pasta looks awesome!

  4. Tague February 17, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    cant believe i havent seen those pretty flowers….and dont hate on the roses (some boys need more training than others) hahaha!

Leave a Reply

