my fitness anniversary

15 Feb

Maybe it was because work was completely dead tonight and I didn’t expend all my energy delivering bread to tables at a freak like speed, or maybe it was my post-race infatuation with running…

cheery runners

cheery runners!

…whatever it was, something pushed me to fly home from work tonight and throw on my nike tempo shorts& race t-shirt (I considered wearing my medals, but thought it might be dangerous) and head over to the gym to pound out five miles on the treadmill.

When the first song in my play list was my ALL-TIME favorite running song, I KNEW it’d be a great, energizing workout. Second bonus: The Biggest Loser was on! I got to stare longingly (yeah, I know it’s creepy) at my mega- fitness idol Jillian Michaels while I jammed out.

While running, I let my mind wander. Julie’s post today had me thinking about my first reads in the blogging world. First blog I read? Oh She Glows. I remember reading Angela’s entire story of  her former struggles with disordered eating and thinking, “This is so me. There are other people out there, who are just like me.” I quickly sent the links to Courtney (I knew she’d be impressed with the animal-free treats), and we drooled over her delicious, healthy food options and passion for fitness.

What was most inspiring? (More inspiring than vegan cakes that looked better than the “real thing”?) Her attitude, and the attitude of many in the blogging world that I have come to “follow” so to speak. The idea that fitness and health are on the inside.

I’m not going to lie. I like looking good, and I wouldn’t MIND rocking my bikini this summer with rock solid abs. But what’s even more important to me now is FEELING good. I eat to feel energized, and I exercise to be strong and happy. I eat whole, real foods. If I want a “treat”, I eat a damn treat. I no longer worry about restaurant dinners (“THE CALORIES!”) or birthday parties. (What if I want CAKE?) I simply… live.

don't kill me courtney

Since stumbling upon healthy living blogs roughly a year ago, I have been working out consistently 3-5 days a week for an entire year. I have run three 5ks, and and one 14k- a feat I NEVER thought I could accomplish. My endorphins are sky high, and I can say that I am truly happy in my skin. Sure, I have days where I feel “big” and “gross”.. but I conquer them wisely. I add intervals and subtract some candy. I stay focused and realistic.

So here’s to you, fitness! Happy Anniversary. I want to be with you forever.

7 Responses to “my fitness anniversary”

  1. movesnmunchies February 16, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    such a beautiful post! congrats on the anniversary and may there me many more years to come!

    • cupcake dynamite February 16, 2011 at 11:22 am #

      THANKS girl! I hope so too, I think we’re a good fit 😉

  2. cupcake dynamite February 16, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    I might not kill you but I will get you back somehow.
    xoxo, gossip girl

  3. jessradical February 16, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Jamie this made me cry. I am so proud and i love you ❤

    and that french toast banana sandwich you made for danny looks to DIE for. YUM!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “10 mile tuesday!”- thanks, alyssa! « cupcakedynamite - March 29, 2011

    […] been exercising regularly for a whole year now! (You can read about my relationship with fitness here, if you’re interested.) Having all my past workouts mapped out for me only makes me want to […]

  2. falling off the wagon « cupcakedynamite - May 11, 2011

    […] been in dark places and have had bad relationships with food and exercise (you can read about that here) and to be completely honest- I KNOW I will never go […]

Leave a Reply

