power foods & youtube yoga

16 Feb

So, tonight my roommate & I had power yoga plans from an oh so wonderful 3 classes-for-$9 coupon from Lifebooker, but apparently Jamie & I are both unfortunate with the details of our yoga classes. We didn’t realize the coupon stated you had to email 24 hours in advance…. oops.

I took the time as an opportunity to tackle two things in the kitchen that always intimidated me: spaghetti squash & homemade pasta sauce! I referenced some of my favorite bloggies to help me through 🙂 Fitnessista for the spaghetti squash & Oh She Glows & a my PowerFoods cookbook for the sauce.

First, I cut the squash in half and scooped out the insides like a pumpkin. (I was very OCD at this step, I wasn’t sure how much to scoop… After I kept questioning myself, I figured I’d be alright as long as I wasn’t eating seeds, and even then… meh, what’s a seed? ;))

Cut & scooped!

Then, I put those puppies in the oven at 400 degrees for 45 minutes on a baking sheet with a little bit of water.

Lopsided water 🙂

While it was baking I made my sauce! Olive oil, onion, garlic, then added the salt, pepper, dried oregano, dried basil, and crushed red pepper.

sizzzzle

One of the Power Foods recipes for easy tomato sauce suggested red wine, so I combined my forces. 🙂 My pan isn’t very big so I only added 3/4 of the 28oz can of crushed tomatoes.

red wine + crushed tomatoes + chopped spinach added to the mix

It’s crazy how easily the squash comes out looking like spaghetti by using a fork !!

Spaghetti? No, spaghetti SQUASH! 😉

I probably only added 1/4 of the sauce I made to the squash, but I froze the rest to use in the future! Homemade sauce at my finger tips – yippieeee !!!

Mixxx it up

I wound up only eating half! Surprisingly, it is SO filling as if it really is spaghetti! I love that the entire dish is made of vegetables, who would guess?! (Oh, minus the Parmesan cheese I threw on top, but that doesn’t count! ;))

All together nowwww !!

All those veggies gave me the p-p-power to clean+organize my room & improvise my workout with some Jillian Michaels YouTube yoga. I’m already thinking the DVD might even be tomorrow’s lunchtime purchase because the youtubes are way too short! It’s also possible not making it to class was a sign that I’m not ready to practice my yoga in a public setting yet.

....what do you think?

(….Yep, I didn’t think I was ready either.)

7 Responses to “power foods & youtube yoga”

  1. cupcake dynamite February 16, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    omg i want to make that spaghetti squash so bad! i might just buy a food processor this weekend..that looks SO GOOD. and it’s gravy not sauce. JAST kidding. love you best friendddd!

    -Jamie

    plus the beach looks lovely

  2. This Italian Family February 16, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    I love spaghetti squash! I haven’t had it in far too long, though!

    • cupcake dynamite February 17, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      It always looked so much harder than it was! Definitely a new love! 🙂

  3. mealsformiles February 17, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Oooh, I love spaghetti squash! The last time I made it, I ate the entire squash (or the insides…) myself with some italian seasonings and roasted veggies. That looks so good!

    • cupcake dynamite February 17, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      It’s funny because when I ate my left over for lunch it looked like a lot less than “half” It would definitely be good with roasted veggies!! I thought about adding zucchini!

  4. kimberly February 19, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    your good

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. yoga meltdown « cupcakedynamite - February 17, 2011

    […] The workout also adds reps of moves (ie what seem like lunges) to really get your heart rate up. As Court mentioned, this DVD may be her lunch time purchase of the […]

Leave a Reply

