squash manifesto

17 Feb

I got done work tonight and was staaaarvin.’ Maybe because I was googling this caramelized butternut squash recipe at work and couldn’t wait to get home and try it out!

I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used much less butter & salt, but added cinnamon + pumpkin pie spice (!!!) Oh, and we only had dark brown sugar so I rolled with that πŸ™‚

Dark brown sugar, butter, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, & pepper!

I prepped my veggies, popped the squash in the oven, and scooted my butt down to the gym! I got on the treadmill with the intentions of running at least 2 miles in the 20 minute window I had, but couldn’t even get through a mile. I felt awful, but I tried not to sweat it so I got off, pretending it was perfectly acceptable to get on the treadmill for 7 minutes, and instead did a good amount of squats & sit up rep’s with 10 pound weights. Today really wasn’t my day for workouts – this morning when my alarm went off @ 6 am to work-out, I instead dreamt I was at the gym until my next alarm went off. I had just enough time to fit in 20 minutes of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, because I can’t tell you how disappointing it is to wake up thinking you’ve been at the gym.

After squats I got back to my trusty ‘ol food!

fresh squeezed lemon, EVOO, spinach, mushrooms, garlic, & seasoooonings

In between turning my squash in the oven & sautΓ©ing the mushrooms, I was doing jumping jacks – it’s the Jamie Jillian in me.

ta-DA

You should know now that I always burn my food. I think the butternut squash needed a bit more of something, (maybe it was the skimp on butter) but still sooooo good.

I enjoyed some after-dinner reads while I waited for Jersey Shore! Jamie actually gave let me borrow this months ago and my parents just sent me some of my books & it was in there!!

It’s more-so for teenagers “coming out of the food pantry” to parents & friends and how to go about making the transition; even though I’ve been a vegetarian for a long time now, it’s always interesting to keep myself educated. I know I’m not the perfect vegetarian and even found myself scrunching my face when I looked at the vegetarian food pyramid.

My answer to the why:

πŸ˜‰

It’s a cute little book which is definitely geared toward a younger crowd who are having a hard time fitting in & getting people to understand why they’re a vegetarian. It has eating plan make-overs for kids of the various types of vegetarians & vegans. Seriously, this would have been handy when I attempted to try the vegan diet 3 years ago. I didn’t have the lovely bloggie resources that I have now & thought Chinese Food was my only option πŸ™‚ In my defense, I was actually adding chia seeds my stir fry’s long before these said resources! πŸ˜‰

Attitude, baby.

3 Responses to “squash manifesto”

  1. movesnmunchies February 18, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    that book sounds so cute! and I LOVE that squash! i make a mean cinna roasted one!

    • cupcake dynamite February 18, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      I love all the pictures!! πŸ˜‰ I have been a squash machine this week – you’ll have to share your recipe!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. cupcake dynamite February 18, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    HAHAHAH i was thinking “oh..i have that book too!”..

    -jamie

Leave a Reply

