yoga meltdown

17 Feb

I love yoga. I am in NO WAY a yogini. I am so FAR from yogini-hood that I’m not even sure if “yogini” is an actual yoga term. I am a beginner through and through. I’ve been to just a few classes and decided in the past month that I’d buy a few yoga DVDs (since classes are EXPENSIVE), learn some poses, and if I like it invest in a studio membership when I’m rich.

Enter: Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown. Target; $9. And the best $9 I’ve ever spent. It’s not just because I have a creepy obsession with the woman, but because she makes it way easy to LEARN the poses and their names. The workout also adds reps of moves (ie what seem like lunges) to really get your heart rate up. As Court mentioned, this DVD may be her lunch time purchase of the day.

Best thing about it: The DVD gives me and others who enter my room the illusion that I am extremely good at yoga. Some of the simple poses LOOK really cool and make me feel like I am balancing in strange, strong ways.

look ma, no feet

maybe next week i'll get that leg straight

(I’m sorry mom if you are reading this and cringing. My room is really not that messy, those are just my work clothes and apron on my bed. You are more than welcome to come help me clean if if you want, though…)

Danny came home from work last night and caught me twisted like a pretzel. After he attempted some bridges of his own (he made me promise I wouldn’t include the photos) he deemed himself my official yoga photographer.

This morning, I woke up CRAVING that french toast I made yesterday. I decided to re-create and tailor it to my own liking. I subbed in an Arnold’s sandwich thin, almond butter, egg whites, almond milk, and cinnamon. Half a banana made it in, the other half went straight into my mouth.

how cool is it that they make these with flax now?!

Topped with a drizzle of syrup and BAM! Delicious. (Are there any “healthy” syrups of syrup alternatives? I was thinking some honey would be good but I don’t have any. Syrup is LOADED with sugar… and while I have no problem with sugar, I love hate to turn my breakfast into candy.)

sunny morning! 66* today 😀

14 Responses to “yoga meltdown”

  1. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 17, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    that french toast looks aaaaamazing.

    I have a syrup problem. I know it’s loaded with sugar, but I can’t heeeelp it!

    does the fact that I use hungry jack light make it a little better? 😉

    • cupcake dynamite February 17, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      BAHAH YES! I think soooooooo 😉 ILL MAKE YOU SOME!!! 🙂

  2. amburdur February 17, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I enjoy giving my friends the impression I’m a ‘yogini’ as well, hehe. When really all I do is Kundalini Yoga videos.

    For syrup, maybe you could use just a bit of organic syrup and mix it with honey and cinnamon. At least you’d get in more honey that way but with still a bit of the syrup flavor and the spice of cinnamon? I think I’ll try that when I get home~

    • cupcake dynamite February 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      OOO that sounds good!!! I will definitely try that out! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  3. This Italian Family February 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Oooh look at you go! I’m so impressed!

    Christopher is actually better at doing bridges than I am… sad sad story, haha!

    • cupcake dynamite February 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      BAHAHA! I didn’t even think he’d know what a bridge was..!

  4. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy February 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    66 degrees! So exciting!!! 🙂 And I love JM yoga meltdown! 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite February 17, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      75 tomorrow I am pumped for a run!!!!!! 😀 isn’t it AWESOME! I love the 30 day shred so I knew it had to be good!

  5. yourdailygrace February 17, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    I am terrified of going to a yoga class because i can’t even do a downward dog right. My boyfriend likes to make fun of me if he’s in the room when I’m doing yoga videos. I totally want to invest in Jillian’s yoga DVD!

    • cupcake dynamite February 18, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      bahahah mine always asks me to do the videos in my bikini… BOYS! you SHOULD… its super cheap and a great workout! i think after a couple more weeks of this i’ll feel much more comfortable in a class..it’s a good starting point!

  6. Euniece February 17, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    woo way to go on the arm balance pose!

  7. Laura February 18, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    It looks like you’re pretty good at yoga to me! I love the firefly pose!

    • cupcake dynamite February 18, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      Like I said..the DVD gives the illlusion of yoga succes ;)!!

Leave a Reply

