I’ve got 99 problems, but a Pilates deal ain’t one

24 Feb

That was actually the headline in my Yipit email today, it made me giggle so I thought I’d share. Especially since I’ve got 99 problems, but a Yoga deal ain’t one, I’ve got those babies lined up for weeks. 😉 On my productive day off on Monday, I suggested  Target to Danny and was super surprised to hear an, “okay” back. In NYC, there are only two targets – Harlem and Brooklyn. I have always been intimated by both, assuming they were in uncharted territory. I was happily surprised to learn that the Brooklyn Target was SO easy, and in a giant mall. I felt like a kid in a candy store, no better TOYS ‘R US. It had been months since I went to Target, but now that I know how easy it is, we’ll never be separated for that long again.

Yes, I took a picture of Target, I was that ecstatic

My two biggest inspirations to go to target:

New Yoga Mat + Yoga Meltdown!

Jamie was right about the DVD, it’s nice to learn the poses with repetitions. I’ve been practicing a ton this week with my break from running. Although, I still feel like I could use some sort of yoga flash cards to study with before I go to a class. 😉 This is the best I found! I haven’t looked, but I bet there is an iPhone “app for that.” Heh, heh.

For a laugh, self-photobooth yoga flubs… Photobooth just isn’t meant for me to take yoga pictures.

This is called the Nemo - just keep swimming.. just keep swimming

As for FOOD, a few weeks ago, I found whole wheat lasagna noodles in the grocery store, and while I have never even so much as entertained the idea of making lasagna – I got excited for the whole wheat & have been itching to make it. Let’s face it, anything whole wheat, pasta, or vegetable excites me. Plus, I could incorporate some foods to brighten up my blech winter skin they suggested this FitSugar article!! I take anything I can GET at this point in winter!

The nutrition stats were actually pretty good! 1g of fat, 0mg of sodium, and 7g of protein.

Heart Healthy, not too shabby.

I decided to semi-wing-it after studying a few recipes off of Cooking Light. I think I really clicked every single one of those..

The veggie fillers:  mushrooms, zucchini, yellow pepper, and spinach.

chop chop

The cheese: ricotta, mozzarella, and some Parmesan to garnish.

say CHEESE 😀

The seasonings:

the spinach, oregano, garlic & moreeee

The sauce:

Sauce + mah veggies

Once the noodles are done, you need to lay them out so they don’t stick – I did not know this!

Thank goodness for instructions 😉

I started with a layer of sauce + veggies then layered more noodles, but since I was using a small pan I had to cut the noodles down.

lol

I was a bit confused when it came to the “layers.” I wound up putting sauce on top of the cheese without the pasta; I tried to scoop it out but it seemed like a lost cause.

Ricotta & Mozzerella Layer: The Before Picture

Since I ran out of sauce+veggies, I decided the last layer would be cheese. Oh well…. 😉

The top

45 minutes and one level 1 of Jillian Michaels later, I pulled it out of the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes!

Bubbly goodness

It was hard not to be incredibly generous in my portion….

Messy!!!

A meal that was messy, amazinngggg, and will feed me for weeks. It’s still crazy to eat things I never thought I’d make that actually TASTE fantastic, too. I may have missed the yoga pictures, but I am pleased with this outcome. 🙂

I'm just a regular Little Italy chef 🙂

 

6 Responses to “I’ve got 99 problems, but a Pilates deal ain’t one”

  1. yourdailygrace February 25, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I love Target and Lasagna!

  2. This Italian Family February 25, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Ooh that lasagna looks SO good!

  3. Susan - Nurse on the Run February 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    That lasagna looks amazing!

    I was scared to go up to Harlem when I first moved here in order to go to Target, mainly because the buses freak me out. I haven’t been back there since…I really wish there was one closer!

    • cupcake dynamite February 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      YES! The Brooklyn one was so easy because the 2/3 & 4/5 subway station is actually ATTACHED.

  4. Tague March 4, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    LOVE ❤ the picture!

Leave a Reply

