a very BK weekend

28 Feb

Saturday night, dinner was had @ Lodge in Williamsburg, which has a super cozy, rustic feel. (Exactly like a lodge – but cooler…)

mason jar glasses 🙂

We got the fried okra as an appetizer, which was a special for the night – I have to say whenever I see a fried vegetable that is obscure on the menu, I feel compelled to get it.

couldn't even tell there's a vegetable in there 😉

As for my entreé, I rolled with the apple and shallot risotto, even though it was extremely difficult to pass up the mac & cheese (this may have been a FIRST!) I’ve only ever had mushroom risotto so I was intrigued how the sweet taste of apples would go with the risotto.

looks like mashed potatoes...!!

It was interesting! Mushrooms usually empower the dish, so I got to actually taste the risotto on it’s own in this one…. A+ for originality, but I still think the mushrooms + risotto are the better match. 😉 Risotto is always incredibly filling, but it will look like you never even took a bite!!

eee

On Sunday, I wanted to go to brunch, but when the majority of the group (cough, cough Danny) was very avid that he they did NOT want brunch, our friend suggested Brooklyn Bowl because he saw it featured on the Food Network! (for the fried chicken, though…)

good food at a bowling alley? I'll take it...

I asked everyone quite a few times if anyone at the table was interested in the vegetable plate. I think I just kept asking until I got yes as the answer. Crudité is my FAVORITE. Ask Jamie, I often tell her I’m craving some at random times during the day. I had to actually explain what crudité was the first time I mentioned it, too. Tricky. 😉

crudité & the best blue cheese EVER

It was a tough call for me between the Theresa french bread pizza (butternut squash, mushrooms, & garlic) and the veggie sandwich.

the obvious winner

Brooklyn Bowl was right next to Brooklyn Brewery, so we decided to continue with the Sunday Funday theme for beer tastings & a tour.

BK Brewery

You can get 6 drink chips for $20 and a bunch of people had board games at their table. Good times. 😉

the crew

Another plus of the brewery? An adorable brew-cat. 🙂

kitty

The tour was somewhat sub-par as they are currently renovating, but we did learn any beer brewed there in Brooklyn uses unfiltered NYC tap water. Hmmmm.

brewwwws

4 Responses to “a very BK weekend”

  1. mealsformiles March 1, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    ooh that pizza looks amazing! I know this is sad, but I’ve never been to Brooklyn Brewery… must. explore. other. boroughs. 🙂

  2. This Italian Family March 1, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Looks like you had so much fun! We went to a brew factory in St Louis a couple of years ago and it was such a fun experience! I love the brew cat too! 🙂

  3. Susan - Nurse on the Run March 4, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    I also need to explore the other boroughs! But perhaps I should get around Manhattan a little more. Let’s meet up and explore…sounds good to me!

    • cupcake dynamite March 4, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      YES, sounds good to me, too!! I’ve only been because it’s semi-close to where I work, so it doesn’t count for real exploration 🙂

Leave a Reply

