cold turkey

2 Mar

My name is Jamie, and I am addicted to diet soda.

the innocence..

 

I eat well. I eat whole grains and veggies, fresh fruit and lean meats. I consider my body a temple and I treat it as such. So WHY, am I guzzling Aspartame? My relationship with diet soda is becoming unhealthy. I’m at three-four (sometimes FIVE) cans a day, and I can’t kick the habit.

It’s not only the possible health dangers associate with high amounts of Aspartame that scare me- it’s the fact that I have actually become addicted to this stuff. I quit once (Courtney remembers this, as I stood in Target “dizzy and shaking with Aspartame withdrawal”- yes, I am that dramatic and yes, Courtney and I are really this obsessed with Target..) butΒ upon moving to VA Beach, I relapsed.

So here goes nothing. I’m quitting the chemicals again, cold turkey I tell ya. I’m posting it here because if I announce it to the world, I HAVE to stick to it. Right? Right. Here goes nothing! It’s a new month (I’m a day late) so what better time to kick a bad habit? πŸ™‚

16 Responses to “cold turkey”

  1. movesnmunchies March 2, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    YOU CAN DO IT!! I DID IT TOO!!! i stopped last November.. no more headaches, SO MUCH MORE ENERGY- trust me itll be fine.. you will feel SO MUCH BETTER!

    • cupcake dynamite March 2, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      Thank you!!! Congrats!! It’s crazy how it’s such a tough thing to quit! I need a diet soda patch or gummm πŸ˜‰

  2. This Italian Family March 2, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    You go girl! You got this!

  3. cupcake dynamite March 2, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    I HAVE kept up with our pact!!! Minus random REGULAR soda treats here & there every few months.
    xo C.

  4. sisters running the kitchen March 2, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    hey jamie! love your blog! oh man, good luck with this!!! I was semi-addicted (okay, not quite 5 cans a day) a few years back- I gave it up for lent and just went cold turkey and stopped drinking it all together. Now I allowed myself to have it only sometimes – like when i go to panera or chipotle or something haha…good luck…you can do it!!! maybe try drinking seltzer water with a splash of fruit or something? might help πŸ˜‰

    • cupcake dynamite March 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks!! hahah I can totally see wanting it at panera or chipotle…AHHH!! i’m def going to head to the grocery store tomorrow for some seltzer- hopefully that will help! i am so used to mindlessly grabbing a diet coke, i’ve stopped myself more than once tonight!!

  5. Alyssa March 2, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    HEY. idea! I’m a carbonation lover, aaand I try to kick my habit by drinking sparkling water. I generally only drink soda when I go out for dinner and am not boozin’ (I know, rare for me, right?).

    SO… check out the walmart or food lion brands of sparkling water. they taste like yummy sprite. πŸ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite March 2, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      hehe! that’s what happened to me, I stopped drinking soda and started a new addiction of sparkling water and seltzer! -Courtney

    • cupcake dynamite March 2, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      bahaha DEAL! i am definitely going to try this!!

  6. yourdailygrace March 2, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    I can’t really relate because soda hurts my tummy so once I realized I stopped drinking it…but I know You Can Do It!

  7. Tague March 7, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Courntey told me you were giving up soda…and I am too! I’m giving it up for lent (and dreading every second of it) I think i’ll have one last soda tomorrow and then its dunzo for me πŸ™‚ Good Luck!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. no oats, goats « cupcakedynamite - March 3, 2011

    […] my quest to kick my aspartame habit, I’m also trying to purchase foods with as few ingredients as possible. For me- healthy […]

  2. back to life, back to reality « cupcakedynamite - March 8, 2011

    […] coke at the movies and whispered “if you need a sip- I won’t tell anyone..” but i RESISTED the urge and instead let the salt dry out my mouth.) in my diet coke lovin' […]

  3. sham’rocked it! « cupcakedynamite - March 21, 2011

    […] believe me if I said that not only have I not taken even one SIP of diet soda since my decision to quit, but I haven’t even THOUGHT of the stuff? Danny has been teasing me about how long the cases […]

Leave a Reply

