march greens

2 Mar

Yesterday, I started my month of March with a green juice to get me going in this month of GREEN.

my version of the shamrock shake?

(Kale, celery, green apple, cucumber, orange.)

To continue with the green-theme, for dinner I modified a recipe from Power Foods, which was Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Pear and Shallots. The recipe called for shallots (as you might be able to tell from the title) and thyme. I had neither, and since I was already getting home late from work – I didn’t want to stop so I just went with what I had.

Brussels, pear, lemon juice, evoo, black pepper, and oregano sprigs

I also decided to make semi-stuffed mushrooms for some more protein… using my imagination. I combined evoo & white wine and coated the inside of the mushrooms, then just added Parmesan and seasonings – nothing too crazy, just something SIMPLE after my headache of a day ;), although I’d love to find & try a really awesome stuffed mushroom recipe sometime soon!

easy peezy

I may or may not have put the oven at 450 degrees this time in an attempt to cut down on my bake time… it was late & I was hungry despite an apple & peanut butter afternoon snack.

oven ready

Take it out of the oven, inhale in a few bites, and relaxxxxx while watching Sex & the City.

I always, always burn food, but I think I like it better that way.

Here’s to hoping the rest of March is less stressful than the first day, despite my green efforts! 🙂

happy march!

3 Responses to “march greens”

  1. mealsformiles March 2, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I’m in love with Brussels sprouts lately – that combo looks really good. For some reason, brussels sprouts and fruit is delicious – I’ve had them with apples and grapes with various nuts or cheeses. all delicious 🙂

  2. This Italian Family March 2, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Happy March to you too! 🙂 I have to admit, I think I’d like the brussel sprouts better with a little burnt edges so yours look great!

  3. yourdailygrace March 2, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Both your dishes look amazing!

Leave a Reply

