mexican radio and liquiteria

7 Mar

I’m currently bloggin’ from the road back to NYC! More on that to come πŸ˜‰

Friday night, since I’m a Mexi-holic & coupon-holic I combined forces to head to Mexican Radio using my fantastic Scout Mob app on my iPhone!! It has a list of all it’s restaurants with a current deal and you can use ANY. It’s all 50%, but usually a limit on how much $$ (mostly $20-30 limit) you can get off. Still, that’s $20 off a bill for holding up your phone! I’m a big fan because in a city with millions of restaurants it gives you an incentive to try somewhere new without searching FOREVER.

I met Danny & our friend and as we had some time to wait for a table, we started off with some drinks. There was a sign that said if you checked in on FourSquare or Facebook you could get a $5 margarita, so I took full advantage at the bar. Important side note: Danny & our friend waited until we got to the table to take advantage.

We started with some salsa. You have to order it off the menu here, but I didn’t mind because it was absolutely delicious.

mmmmm

Soooo many veggie & vegan options!! I didn’t know how to choose.

!!!

We also got some guacamole… Oops? πŸ™‚

guac = ❀

After debating for a long time in my head – roasted veggies, sauteed portobellos, peppers & onions, or garlic spinach, aaahhh – I finally decided on the spinachΒ  & enchiladas. Sorry, seiten you can’t be put next to all those awesome veggies and expect to remain in the running. This is what happens when you give vegetarians options, we can’t decide.

enchilada goodness

The food was all good, but our waitress… not so much. I always make sure to say I am using Scout Mob upfront, just so there isn’t any confusion later on. When the bill came, she said she couldn’t combine deals and we had to choose between Scout Mob and the $5 margs. Which was weird in the first place, not to mention the wrong time to tell us. To me, $5 margarita’s are a drink special, and not a “deal.” Then, she charged us for other things we didn’t order – 3 enchilada’s when my friend ordered 2… larger margaritas. The differences weren’t that much money, but still – it’s the principle. I casually mentioned it, but she told me she wasn’t going argue with me. πŸ˜‰ What can ya do? I usually never complain about waitstaff, as it’s the nature of the NYC restaurant game and usually it’s out of their hands, but she was just outrageous?

order 2, get 3 πŸ˜‰

Still good times, never a reason to let a situation out of your hands ruin anything!

 

this is my "I forgot to take a picture at the restaurant, so let's take one after" picture

Saturday was a beautiful day, so when I was in the East Village I decided to go on a smoothie/juice mission. And juice I FOUND. I actually passed up Xoom first, because it had nothing green. I’m glad I did because I walked into Liquiteria and said, “this is my heaven.”

there's my greens

Soooo many varieties and all kinds of add in’s. Exactly what the doctor ordered!

eee

I got the all greens fresh squeezed juice (kale, spinach, romaine, parsley, celery, cucumber & apple) & asked for apple added in.

greenery

Lurveeeee. I really need to invest in something to make these at home. Liquiteria had a whole list of “Liquid RX” and I’d love to try them; I’m just curious at what exactly the Liver Kidney Lymph Detox add-in in a handful of them actually is?!?!

or two.. I'm feelin' that.

 

8 Responses to “mexican radio and liquiteria”

  1. mealsformiles March 7, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    I find it’s definitely hit or miss when it comes to waitstaff here – that sounds especially obnoxious though! At least you got *a* deal though? I was in the E Village on Saturday too – so lovely out! I would be pretty wary of any sort of thing that mentions the kidney and liver and detox from a juice store – that stuff isn’t regulated at all. I’d stick with their delicious, harmless smoothies!

    • cupcake dynamite March 7, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      You’re so right about them both! I was intrigued… but definitely worry about what it actually is. They definitely had enough other stuff I’d love to try!! Love how sunny the east village gets compared to some of the rest of the city πŸ™‚

  2. Alyssa March 7, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    that liquiteria looks AWESOME.. pretty sure we don’t have any of those in vb! I’m very jeal. πŸ˜‰

    AND you’re right to be annoyed by the server, esp if you warned her up front about your coupon. hope you didn’t give her much tipola!

    • cupcake dynamite March 7, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      it was an amazing find! at least you’ve got the beach on nyc πŸ˜‰ and jamie! bahaha..

  3. cupcake dynamite March 7, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    eeeeeeeeek we aren’t allowed to combine happy hr with groupons/restaurant.coms and all that jazz, as ruled by groupon&such! that’s annoying though, and i always feel bad when i tell people i can’t give them the cheap drink price bc they have a coup.

    -jamie

    • cupcake dynamite March 7, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      oh, I’d never blame a waitress for a rule like that… as long as you tell them before they order them. πŸ˜‰ and don’t bring giant sizes for everything else that they didn’t order so you get more money πŸ˜‰
      -courtney

  4. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 7, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Wow all of that food looks so authentic! I love how the chips are red! It’s so fun to eat colored foods πŸ™‚

  5. yourdailygrace March 8, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    All that food looks amazing! I haven’t been to too many mexican places that make fabulous looking veggie options! I hate when they make deals confusing….it always makes me feel awkward.

Leave a Reply

