run like a girl

8 Mar

To run outside…or hit the gym. The ultimate workout question of my day. As I mentioned, I recently signed up for the TowneBank 8k: It’s next Saturday! Poundin’ out five miles with some girls from work.

I’ve been spending extra time on my yoga skills lately, and less on my cardio. I know I need to amp it up this week to be in prime running shape come next weekend, but it it was COLD today.

what's a girl to do?!

I put on my big girl pants (forever 21 workout gear, actually) and hit the streets. Rather than trying to do an easy 6 or 7 mile run, I allowed myself to move as QUICKLY as I could for 3.5.

stats! STATS! STATS! STATS! STATS!

The best part about tonight’s run? NO LEG PAIN! I am usually a snail during my first mile: it takes minutes before my legs ever seem to warm up. Tonight was a whole new ball game. I was feeling like a rockstar, and my legs felt warmed up and ready to go from my first step out the door.

Yoga, anyone? Is all this stretching paying off!?

In other news, Court is seeing Bright Eyes tonight, and I am SUPER jealous& hoping she is having the BEST time!

xooo

Almost as exciting as eating frozen blackberries and hanging with my UPS man..;)

 

7 Responses to “run like a girl”

  1. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 8, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    I totally agree yoga helps me feel ok that first mile into my runs! Stretching makes it soooooooo much easier! its also good that your a varying your runs (some longer 7 miles) and some shorter (3.5) I did a 4 mile interval run today too! 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite March 9, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Nice! Intervals are rough but I know they are so helpful for speed! I am going to keep up with yoga for sure if it makes running feel THIS good. 🙂

  2. Tara March 8, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    You are too pretty!!! Way to get out there, especially without the pain. Get pumped for that race, I know you’re going to kill it!

    • cupcake dynamite March 9, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      THANKS SO MUCH!! You are too sweet! I CANNOT WAIT to race!!!! 🙂

  3. movesnmunchies March 9, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    woohoo! awesome run!!! you ran in such great times!!!

    • cupcake dynamite March 9, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      Thanks! I noticed that NOT looking at my garmin helped me move a little quicker, I think when I stare at it too much during my run I get nervous that I’m moving too fast and won’t be able to make it the whole way home LOL

  4. Alyssa March 9, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I guess I need to do some yoga, eh? 🙂 I’m soorrrryyy I pooped out on you for outside runs. I promise once my shins are back in gear I’ll be ready to rock!

Leave a Reply

