confessions of my lunch box

15 Mar

Sometimes my lunch box gets lonely because  I forget to use it and instead buy from the zillions of places this city has to offer. In an attempt to save some dolla dolla’s and fill my little lunch box with some fun – I’ve made it another goal to PACK MORE & BUY LESS. I was running out of excuses anyway since I am up super duper early. 😉 I’m trying to go from 1-2 times a week if I have left overs to 4-5 days. eeee!!!

My lunch box in case you are wondering:

pssst, hi jamie & phillies pencil holder.

Hey… it’s perfect – snaps at the top & everything!

Last night when I made dinner, I purposely cooked extra veggies (portabello and zucchini) and added some yellow bell peppers at the end. Not too much additional work at all 🙂

vegggiies

This morning, after a 2 mile run (following a beginner 5k training schedule, more on that later!!) – I prepped everything else. I added spinach and chives, then jack cheese to my veggie container and salsa to another container.


I just packed an entire pack of pitas because it’s easier for me that way.

I inadvertantly bought the same kind as J

A FitSugar article on the benefits of lemons inspired me to also pack half a lemon for my water throughout the day. SUCCESS – I got in so much more agua + reaped the benefits of lemons !!! Hooray

When lunchtime rolled around, I made my veggie pita!!!! 😀 Heated the veggies, toasted the pita, then added the cheese, spinach, chives, cooked veggies, and salsa inside.

Super spicy with the combo of hot salsa + jack cheese, but I’m a lover of all things hot and it’s only a plus that it helps speed your metabolism. 😀

I packed some blue chips to munch on, as well.. which helped with the heat.

I’d definitely recommend putting this all together at work (or wherever you are :)) as I dislike soggy sandwiches. …But does anyone actually like them anyway?!

For my snack, I had a sweet treat from a dessert truck outside our office that my co-worker was kind enough to share with me. 🙂 Some kind of walnut cookie bar. SO GOOD.

PS, Does this officially mean I have tried street food? I may turn into this…

silly picture of me from this weekend's adventures. 😉

15 Responses to “confessions of my lunch box”

  1. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 15, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    That lunch looks mighty fine, I think you did a great job! Yay for spicy food!

  2. yourdailygrace March 15, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Sounds like a delicious lunch to me=) and street food or not that walnut bar looks yummy!

  3. mealsformiles March 16, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    haha, I think the dessert truck is “safe” street food! Street meat, on the other hand… ew. I always think of doing the lemon thing but then I never do – such as easy way to get vitamins and make water more delicious!

  4. Susan - Nurse on the Run March 16, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I never make real lunches, it’s usually just leftovers from dinners that I’ve made! That’s what happens when you cook for one. My lunch bag used to be a lululemon bag, but I used it so much that I kept breaking them…oops!

    • cupcake dynamite March 16, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      I’m afraid of that problem, but then atleast I have an excuse to buy more lululemon??? I cook for one but she eats way too much sometimes for leftovers… how rude of her. 😉

  5. Alyssa March 16, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    love, love, LOVE. that pencil holder. 😉

  6. Jenny March 16, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I need to get some of those pitas! What a great little lunch 😀

    • cupcake dynamite March 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      they aren’t bad! I did have to cut it in half in order to get the “pockets” to work

  7. loftyappetite March 21, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    I’ve been on a mission to bring lunch everyday too. I’m a month in and it takes a lot of motivation to make my lunch in the evenings and a lot of times I don’t want to, but I’m always so glad when I do! I feel like I’m saving so much money, and being healthier. Great 2-in-1!

    • cupcake dynamite March 21, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      I know, it’s tough to motivate myself but totally worth it to have those lunch $$’s in my pocket!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. for better or for worse? « cupcakedynamite - June 7, 2011

    […] true was how much money I was spending on food. I committed to trying to pack a few times a week a few months ago, but two weeks ago – after my night of Mint terror – I decided to go cold turkey. […]

Leave a Reply

