ants in my pants

16 Mar

I’ve got ants in my pants. I’m going to scream.

I WANT TO RUN SO BADLY!

I’ve just become even more discouraged/cranky/restless legged upon reading an passage from this article:

“If your symptoms are below the neck, such as coughing, body aches, fever, and fatigue, then it’s time to hang up the running shoes until these symptoms subside.”

I know there are more important things going on in the world. I hate being a whiny girl…but my body is USED to running now, and I honestly feel that my running hiatus (only ONE MILE since last Thursday) is making me feel WORSE.

And on a side note, this cranky hacker cougher:

guilty as charged

Has somehow magically turned into TWO cranky coughers:

sporting an evil look..he didn't even see it coming

Oops? I am REALLY hoping this does not affect my 8k Saturday. I am also hoping my mom reads this, drives down to VA from NJ, makes me chicken noodle soup, and gives me lots of presents and new clothes.

A girl can dream.

What about you, do you take time off when you’re sick? Even if you have a race coming up? I’m hoping these rest days magically transform me into a woman of supersonic speed Saturday, but in reality I am BUMMED.

6 Responses to “ants in my pants”

  1. Alyssa March 16, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    waaah! get better, Jamie!

    actually, I have heard that you can go an entire week before a race without training and still have the same cardiovascular endurance for the race.

    so, as long as you get better for saturday, you’re golden! 🙂

    let me know if you want me to play mama and bring you soupies. I’ll wear a mask. 😉

  2. meg o@ watchmegorun March 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Its so hard to rest before a race, but this time off will help! You may not be 100% by sat, but symptoms should be good enough to run. Rest, get your vitamin c, and drink lots of water! Feel better!

  3. yourdailygrace March 16, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I was sick earlier this year for about two weeks, I think it was a sinus infection, and read exactly the same thing you did. But mine was above my neck until the second week when it transformed into a lovely coughing thing. I ran anyway, I’m not sure if it hurt me but it didn’t help.
    My advice to you is to pretty much what everyone else said. Drink water, take vitamins, eat healthy food, get lots of sleep, and see if you can squeeze in a very short run tomorrow of friday just to get your legs moving. If you can’t, there is absolutely no shame in walking your 8 miles if you can’t run them all on saturday. If anyone judges you for it they’re silly because runners, of all people, should know we have to keep ourselves healthy!

  4. Jenny March 16, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Sometimes you just know when you’re body needs a rest. I would just take it easy until you can ease back into it. Nothing worse than getting even sicker 😦

  5. This Italian Family March 16, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Aww, feel better SOON!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. to run, or not to run..that is the question « cupcakedynamite - March 18, 2011

    […] ya’ll know I’ve been feeling a BIT under the weather. Thank you SO much for your tips and advice! One comment from Grace really resonated with […]

Leave a Reply

