stuffed sweet potatoes?

16 Mar

Last night I had this savory stuffed sweet potatoes recipe from Pure Foods on the brain. (pssst… it’s on Martha’s website ;))

However, I apparently don’t know what a sweet potato looks like. I popped it in the oven for 50 mins, let it cool, and then when I cut it open, my doubts were confirmed as I realized the cold hard truth and at that moment I knew it could not be a sweet potato. After extensive googling, I figured out it was a sweet yam. Regardless, it was still good šŸ˜‰

I subbed spinach for kale, mushrooms & some pepper jack cheese for tofu, and thyme for rosemary. Oh, and chives for onions if that even counts. šŸ™‚

After 50 looooonnnnggg minutes, I was able to take it out of the oven, cut off the top, scoop out the insides, and stuff it.

yums

I honestly don’t know the nutritional differences between sweet potatoes and sweet yam’s. (Couldn’t find it!!) But the sweet yam was pretty darn good – just entirely different than a sweet potato. I love eating my dinner in a little pocket. šŸ˜€

ariel view

Today’s lunch was easy because its Bagel Wednesday! At work they have bagels for us every week on the lovely hump day. I hated cream cheese prior to working here so when I decided to try the chive/veggie it was a huge deal and I’ve never looked back. I’m addicted. Go big or go home on bagel day! I snagged my favorite bagel today – whole wheat everything.

nyc bagels do not disappoint

Therefore, my own personal Wednesday tradition is salad for lunch. An easy pack! I made it this morning after my run.

15 Responses to “stuffed sweet potatoes?”

  1. This Italian Family March 16, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Those look yummy!!

  2. Susan - Nurse on the Run March 16, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Wow, those look amazing!

    I’ve become so addicted to bagels since I moved to NYC…so spoiled…

  3. Tara March 17, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    I’ve never thought of stuffing potatoes! Such a good idea, especially sweet potatoes/yams. There are so many different things you could stuff them with.
    I’ve never seen a whole wheat everything bagel. I could really go for one of those.

  4. yourdailygrace March 17, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    I love bagels so much! I’ve never seen whole wheat everything! That is a huge dilemma for me, everything bagels are my favorite but I don’t like eating simple carbs so I compromise…I eat a whole wheat bagel with chive and onion low fat cream cheese! Apparently all my problems would be solved if I just came to NYC! and I thought yams and sweet potatoes were the same things…clueless.

  5. Alyssa March 17, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    hello, my name is Alyssa and I’m bagel/cream cheese obsessed. šŸ™‚ HOW have you disliked it…. ever?!

  6. Katie March 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    these look amazing! its fun to try a new recipe!!!!

    Hope your day is great! xo ā¤

  7. (what runs) Lori March 17, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    That looks totally awesome. It’s huge. I heart all things sweet potatoes (or yams.. whatever). Awesome recipe!

  8. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 17, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I love everything bagels! I totally want to go to Great American Bagel now–their bagels are the best!

  9. movesnmunchies March 17, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    DANG THOSE LOOK GOOD!

  10. tinkerbelle86 March 21, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    this looks amazing!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. things change! « cupcakedynamite - April 13, 2011

    […] mentioned Bagel Wednesday before, but just as a refresher, on Wednesday’s where I work there are bagels. What I […]

  2. what court ate wednesday « cupcakedynamite - July 14, 2011

    […] course today also happens to be Bagel Wednesday, so I started my day off with a whole wheat everything bagel and scallion cream […]

Leave a Reply

