happiness, is a cold hoagie

22 Mar

Sometimes when you’re sick (Bronchitis, really. I raced– with bronchitis.) and uber cranky, all ya want is your mom’s home cooking…some real comfort food. Because my mom is six hours away, I settled for a meal that reminds me of South Jersey- a Wawa hoagie.

wawa!

Whole wheat shorti with sweet peppers, hot peppers, roasted peppers (holy vitamin C), lettuce, tomato, parmesan, oil, and vinegar.

colorful!

And a sick and sweaty looking happy girl I was, race T and all.

semi-crooked, i blame the driver

Danny was telling me about this amazing five star restaurant Β and how incredible it is and yadda yadda.. I asked him why he hasn’t taken me yet, and he said “Because you’re ALREADY my girlfriend.” I told him I’d settle for Wawa, but that means that I no longer have to shave my legs since he is ALREADY my boyfriend. πŸ˜‰

Pre-doctor’s office yesterday I ran two miles and had to come home- the coughing was so extreme that I hopped into my car as a sweaty beast and drove to Patient First- a walk-in medical clinic. After finally getting my much needed meds, I went over to the gym for some EASY strength training. It felt great to pump some iron (something I’ve seriously been neglecting- my weights). It seems as if I will be limited to weights& yoga for the rest of the week, until my lil lungs are healed!

20 Responses to “happiness, is a cold hoagie”

  1. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries March 22, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    I loveee wawa!! πŸ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite March 22, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      ME TOO! Where I grew up in Jersey we have a Wawa every two miles…but there are only like two (that I’ve found) in all of Virginia Beach, and they are both a good distance from me!

      • Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries March 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

        They’re sparse in VA! The closest one to me is like, 30 minutes away. Wawa is the only reason I like road trips ahha πŸ™‚

  2. Jenny March 22, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    How have I never heard of a wawa hoagie before? I want one!!! πŸ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite March 22, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      Definitely worth a try- wawa is (or more so, was..in jersey) my go to for “fast” food!!

  3. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 22, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I love the layout of your blog! And that hoagie looks sooo good! I live in the Midwest, where Subway is the closest place to buy a “good” sandwich :).

    • cupcake dynamite March 23, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      THANKS! We are currently trying to change it- we love our header though, Courtney’s boyfriend made it for us!! πŸ˜€ AH! I bet you have so many great places I’ve never even heard of, though!!

  4. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 22, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Mm, I could definitely eat one of those hoagies right now!! I hope you feel better soon! πŸ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite March 22, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      It was PERFECT! Pepper overload!! Thanks so much!! πŸ™‚

  5. Alyssa March 22, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    WAWA IS THE NEXT BEST THING to going home. πŸ™‚ you’re so right.

    and HAAAHA to the shaving the legs comment. you get him to take you to that 5 star restaurant, girl!

    • cupcake dynamite March 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      BAHAHHA right! maybe on my birthday, in august… i could probably go without shaving until then.

  6. This Italian Family March 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Hahaha! I love the not-shaving comment. You make me smile. πŸ™‚

  7. movesnmunchies March 22, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    ive never been to wawa!! they dont have tem here in the UK.. so that would make sense!! nothing wrong with strength training-sounds good!

  8. Mitra @ My Midwest March 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I love Wawa! I went to William & Mary and Wawa used to be the only 24hr place in Williamsburg. I love the sweet peppers but I have yet to find them anywhere else.

  9. yourdailygrace March 23, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    I feel like every family part I’ve been to in PA and Maryland someone shows up with a giant wawa hoagie! Like the ones that are multiple feet long! Wawa also had very good coffee and apple fritters:)

    • cupcake dynamite March 23, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Sounds like my kind of family!! YES- their coffee is seriously the BEST. It might even be my favorite!

  10. adventuresofpretendcook March 23, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Hope you feel better! I always crave grilled cheese and tomato soup when I’m sick . . . classic comfort food.

    • cupcake dynamite March 23, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      I LOVE that combo!! I like my tomato soup with goldfish crackers. πŸ™‚

  11. alex March 23, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    loveee wawa!! i am from central jersey and there have definitely been weekends i’ve driven an hour home from hoboken for wawa’s coffee and ciabatta melts.

    • cupcake dynamite March 23, 2011 at 11:35 am #

      YESSSSSS!!!!!!! welcome fellow jersey girl!!!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

