workout of a waitress

25 Mar

As I’ve mentioned a few times, there’s a special workout that I do five-six nights a week. It’s a combination of cardio and strength, as well as physical and mental endurance. It’s the workout of a waitress. This exercise is probably my least favorite, it’s not one that I do for fun, ie running or yoga. It’s rough, and it includes at least three sets each of the following reps:

1. BREAD. As the newbie of the gang, I’m often responsible for opening. This includes cutting seven trays of bread and carrying them one at a time from the front of the kitchen to the back. Thats seven trips, one heavy (you’d be surprised) bread pan. This move works the triceps, biceps, shoulders, and back. I’d even go as far as saying this often works the core- sometimes I balance the tray on top of my head and wish for the best.

2. ICE. The ice is empty. All. The. Time. “JAMIE, grab some ice.” This happens about twice a night, and the ice is twice as heavy as the bread. One bucket in each hand, one trip around the restaurant. Triceps win again!

3. Run, run, RUN! Customers like to see me move. That’s what I’ve decided. After delivering four hot plates to a table and nearly burning off my limbs to delight the palates of others, I ask one simple question. “Does anyone need anything?” Mom asks for water. I run and grab a water, run back to the table. Little Suzie wants ketchup. Grab the ketchup, back to the table where Dad decides he’d like some tarter sauce. As you can see, the Smith family has no interest in asking me for all that they need at one time. They know I need my cardio fix. This move burns fat, and revs up the metabolism.

Last night I completed this workout in six hours, as opposed to my normal four. I came home and CRASHED into my bed like a seafood smelling maniac.

blog checkin'!

(P.S. I asked Danny if this photo was weird. He said “Well Jamie… this is ALL a little weird.” Ask him what blogs I read on a daily basis and he can rattle off at least three..;))

Post-workout I was STARVING. I told Danny it would be wise to take me for some food before it got ugly. Nothing was open (&serving food) ‘cept Mickey D’s and SWELL.. you know, the place I’ve been every night for the last three weeks. So post-workout crab nachos it was! A giant plate, split with a “not the least bit hungry” Danny.

crab nachos!

At least they were full of salsa & giant chucks of tomato!

Happy Friday ya’ll! I’m doing the work thing waitress workout all weekend, but I can’t complain.. I’m trying to go to VEGAS with my best friend. πŸ˜€

courtie, i miss you SO!

13 Responses to “workout of a waitress”

  1. Alyssa March 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I DON’T miss that workout, trust me.. (especially the ice)! but at least it’s a workout you get paid to do! πŸ˜‰

  2. This Italian Family March 25, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    That really is a serious workout, Jamie! It’s so kind of the great Smith family to help you out with your cardio. πŸ˜‰

    • cupcake dynamite March 25, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      BAHAHA right!? I sweeaaar, these people just like to get me movin’!

  3. movesnmunchies March 25, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    ahhah i WOULD LOVE THis workout!! a nice break from the ‘traditional’ types!

    • cupcake dynamite March 25, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      So true! I consider it a turbo boost to my fitness for the week πŸ˜‰

  4. Recipe Chefs March 25, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    The Most Delicious Baked Cod Recipe

  5. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 25, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    My boyfriend doesn’t understand the whole blogging thing either. Luckily, he just teases me for a little bit and then goes on his way so I can check my blogs :).

  6. Jenny March 25, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    What a workout!! I’d come home crashing too πŸ™‚ Those crab nachos are huge! They look delicious πŸ˜€

    • cupcake dynamite March 25, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

      They’re sooo good… definitely not the first time I’ve had them, either πŸ˜‰

  7. Susan - Nurse on the Run March 29, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Ah, I used to waitress…I had really nice arms from carrying plates!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. how to deal « cupcakedynamite - April 1, 2011

    […] workout I had planned for tonight was one that I’ve actually grown to love: The Workout of a Waitress. Sadly enough… my restaurant has closed. I guess it didn’t make enough cash through the […]

  2. here i am, dun dunn « cupcakedynamite - June 15, 2011

    […] wine. I’m telling you, these southern boys really know how to do it right. Once a cook at my old job here said to me “You know these southern boys..they care about their women more than they […]

Leave a Reply

