“10 mile tuesday!”- thanks, alyssa!

29 Mar

I feel like a machine. After roughly week off from running due to an unfortunate run-in with bronchitis,  I set out on my first run since last Monday!

Part of the reason I know this piece of info is because I’ve been keeping a workout schedule that dates back to March 2010. Honestly, typing those words makes it sound a bit nuts, but keeping track of my workouts helps me out for two reasons:

1. I can see what I need to work on! For example, I noticed last week that I’ve been slacking in the strength training department… so I was sure to get in two weight lifting sessions. Right now I’m also noticing a lack of yoga in my life.. maybe that’ll be tomorrows workout 😉

2. It keeps me motivated. I can see that I’ve been exercising regularly for a whole year now! (You can read about my relationship with fitness here, if you’re interested.) Having all my past workouts mapped out for me only makes me want to continue a fit, healthy, happy life.

sample of my i-cal fitness tracking

Okay- enough on that tangent, and back to the run! I originally had plans to try out a new gym tonight. My membership is just about up at my current gym, and I’m looking to go elsewhere. When Alyssa texted me asking if I was up for a run, I decided the gym could wait. I haven’t seen Alyssa in a few weeks and was excited to run and catch up!

me, alyssa, & her running twin post 14k!

The result of chatting while running: 10 miles accomplished in a breeze! I dub this day 10 Mile Tuesday- hopefully it can happen next week as well. 😉 Running felt SO good after a week off- I can already tell my legs are going to be sore tomorrow so I’m off to foam roll a bit before bed!

 

6 Responses to ““10 mile tuesday!”- thanks, alyssa!”

  1. Jackie @ Baking Charms March 30, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    I keep track in my planner, too! It’s a nice reminder when I’ve taken way too many rest days 🙂

    Congrats on a great 10 miler!

    • cupcake dynamite March 30, 2011 at 10:34 am #

      THANKS!! Right- it definitely helps! I recommend it to anyone trying to begin a fitness plan!

  2. Jenny March 30, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I use Gymbio on my phone to help me keep track of my weight lifting. How else am I suppose to reach PR’s? 😉

    • cupcake dynamite March 30, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Yes!!! That is awesome- you need to teach me your ways! I’d love to get more in to weight lifting!

  3. Alyssa March 30, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    I NEED a date with my foam roller today! asda;rgoiarh!!!

    p.s. I did it. check out today’s post.

Leave a Reply

