parks & baseball

4 Apr

Saturday morning started with a run, so of course I needed to fuel up with some of my favorite carbs of NYC.

the best garlic knots

my new found love - the grandma slice

After carb overdosing, Danny and I headed out to explore the parks of Williamsburg. First up – the pier.

hi home

We found this warning odd. So pretty much, NYC doesn’t care if you poison yourself with their fish if you’re a male? 😛

How bout no one eats out of this river, mmk?

After the pier we headed to another park’s play ground to playyyyyy.

Kids are hardcore these days, these were scary. I wanted ice cream from the KOOL MAN truck, but sadly we had no doll hairs. Next time, kool man, next time.

Afterwards, we walked to yet another park and watched all the softball games and dogs. (hooray for extra cardio!!!) I was incredibly envious of both. I wish I had a softball team, but I’d much rather take a puppy instead… 😉 On our walk back, we came across the dressing room of a tv show.

look closely 😉 hehe

As I said, with April starting comes baseball season; so a good chunk of the rest of the weekend was spent watching some of the opening weekend games at a Philly bar here in New York. Lots of cheese steaks, wings, and cheering for Lee. Lucky for me they even have a few good veggie options.

veggie wrap

I also obsessed over their waffle fries dipped in hot sauce. I shared, I promise. 🙂

Yesterday, I was so excited to head to the NYC Vegetarian Festival, but got there to see 3-4 hour long line that they were going to cut off.

Therefore, my extent of the festival:

organic food truck

😦 very exciting, I know. Head on over here to Une Vie Saine for a real recap of the festival. Next time, I’ll buy the VIP pass. I’ve officially learned my lesson.

16 Responses to “parks & baseball”

  1. Emily April 4, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I. Want. Garlic knots!

  2. Jenny April 4, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Omg those garlic knots look insanely yummy! I love that picture of the pier 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      its nice to soak up the views sometimes and remember where I live since it can get crazy at times!! I’m sure you feel the same about Miami 🙂

  3. Kimberley April 4, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    your carb loading meal looks delicious! woah how come so much on a line up!

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      apparently there are more vegetarians in this world than I thought! 🙂 that, or everyone in this city enjoys free food.

  4. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin' April 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Bummer you missed out on the Vegetarian Festival! I don’t think we have one of those out here in LA, but it sounds amazing! Hope you get some VIP tickets next year. 🙂

    At least you got to enjoy some amazing-looking garlic knots!

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      I bet they would one day! I was surprised, too. I should pre-order them now 🙂

  5. Lauren April 4, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    A vegetarian festival sounds so fun. Long lines do not. I’m glad to see other people getting into the baseball spirit 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite April 4, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      Just like Disney World!! 😉 Of course, it’s the besssst!!

  6. yourdailygrace April 4, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    What is the grandma slice? It looks delicious!

    • cupcake dynamite April 5, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      “Variations abound, but the basic outlines are as follows: a thin layer of dough is stretched into an oiled, square “Sicilian” pan, topped sparingly with shredded mozzarella, crushed uncooked canned tomatoes, chopped garlic and olive oil, and baked until the top bubbles and the bottom is crisp.” Got that from Newsday so I would be accurate. 🙂

  7. Alyssa April 5, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    uuuum, I want those garlic knots. SO bad. I have yet to find any in VA beach worth drooling over.

  8. Gina April 5, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    The line was nuts! But once I made it inside, it was so worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

