running reflections

7 Apr

I have issues. Issues unlike the time Danny came into my room with no idea what hat to wear and forced me to decide…but issues that are REALLY just as ridiculous.

bahahhahaha

Tonight I set out on a run with my favorite VB/Jersey girl Alyssa. My legs were tired, and the run was tough..but I REALLY enjoyed it. Long runs are 10x better when you’re chatting away and forget that you’ve been trucking along for over an hour.

The final results for me: an 8.25 mile run. Here’s where the issues come in to play. Post run I felt disappointed in myself that I didn’t run ten. Eight seemed measly..like nothing at all, not good enough…not noteworthy. Just..eight.

I’m seriously jaded. I get so caught up in pressuring myself to go further, faster, and harder. Sometimes I need to get up into a crow pose and think about the fact that an eight mile run..or even a MILE run is something to be proud of. I’m moving, and I’m feelin’ good.

oddly relaxed

I thought hard about the first time I set out for a run when I knew it was something I wanted to get serious about. My first training run for my first EVER 5k in March of 2010. My brother came along: we ran about a mile and a half and I came home feeling like a CHAMP.

my bro & me

Remembering how difficult that 1.5 mile run was… and how genuinely proud of myself post workout is enough to remind myself that an 8.25 mile run.. IS noteworthy. The amount my endurance has improved (as well as my overall happiness) in one year.. 😀 GREAT. Sometimes ya gotta let yourself bask in the glory, rather than kicking yourself in the tush.

20 Responses to “running reflections”

  1. Jenny April 7, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Holy hell an 8.25 mile run?! You are a badass for sure! I think the most I’ve done is a 2 mile run in high school for P.E class haha. Good job! 😀

  2. Mary (Sisters Running the Kitchen) April 7, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    jamie, an 8.25 mile run is really something to be proud of! After all, that is a FAR distance!! you definitely shouldn’t feel down on yourself!! 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 12:23 am #

      thanks mary!! i guess since my body is getting used to running i feel lame stopping when i could actually keep going! but you’re right, it IS a far distance!

  3. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 7, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Oh man I dream of the day I can run over 8 miles (or 13k for us Canadians). You should be so proud. And great crane pose :).

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 12:25 am #

      HAHA thanks, i’m trying! definitely loving this yoga thing… 😉

  4. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 7, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    An 8.25 mile run is definitely something to be proud of!!! I put a lot of pressure on myself too, so I know where you’re coming from, but it’s good that you were able to step back and see everything you have accomplished!

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      THANKS! sometimes all it takes is some reflection. totally- hence the name of your blog 😉 i am the SAME way

  5. Tara April 7, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    8.25 miles is awesome, and I think that’s a run worth celebrating! A lot of times I think I need to keep going, and when I try it just ends miserably. Sometimes you just have to stop while it’s still good so that you don’t look back and think “gee, what a wonderful run.. until that last part.”

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      you’re SO right..seriously. if i’m not weak by the end sometimes i think i’m not pushing hard enough, but why not just finish strong?

  6. movesnmunchies April 8, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    OMG 8.25 is AMAZING!!!!!!!

  7. alex April 8, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    greetings from someone training for a 5k! who turns bright red at mile 2 and still walks half the time… 8.25 miles is very inspirational!!!

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      well THANKS! I think i definitely need to stop and think about how far i’ve come with running as opposed to how much further i could go! good luck in your 5k training- it is so exciting to cross that finish line!

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      alex, you’re just like me!!! 😀

      -courtney

      • alex April 8, 2011 at 11:07 am #

        haha i hope so!! maybe some day 🙂

  8. owlmazing April 8, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    You should definitely be proud! I am just starting to run and I am proud over being able to run for 3 solid minutes XD it’s all about perspective…and from my perspective you are godly! 🙂

  9. Sarah Soon-To-Be April 8, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Love this – Great reminder! I’m definitely guilty of this – when the miles start climbing my sense of a “good workout” gets skewed. But like you said, you’re moving and feeling good!

    • cupcake dynamite April 8, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      RIGHT- i’m glad i’m not alone! haha. i forget that even a mile run is a good burst of cardio and beneficial to my health. 🙂

  10. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries April 8, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    8.25 miles?! I’ve never run that far in my life. Please don’t ever get down on yourself for running that far ever again!

  11. Lauren April 9, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    An 8 mile run is SUCH an accomplishment! Good for you 🙂 Just remember, there are LOTS of people who didn’t run/exercise at all today.

  12. Alyssa April 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    we’re so jaded. 😉 it’s all good. it was a hot day.

    heh..

Leave a Reply

