the adventures of vegetarians

12 Apr

Saturday afternoon I posted how EXCITED I was to head to a popular vegan restaurant in the city. Plans were to head to Candle 79 with my sister, her husband, and Danny. Things were a bit iffy so we didn’t have a reservation ahead of time, but I called at 10 am and asked how long their wait on Saturday’s was and she told me to come in before it got busy, which is around 7/8pm. We got there at 6:30 and the hostess told us they were “full with only reservations.” I didn’t feel like arguing but so could have when she asked if I “called the cafe instead.” No, no I did not. Now we were stuck on the Upper East Side, (my most unexplored area of the city) hungry, and disappointed none-the-less (maybe Danny paid the hostess…? ;)), especially since we chose Candle over using a Groupon to Pure Food & Wine!! We checked out the cafe, but weren’t thrilled with the atmosphere for dinner, so I used my handy dandy Menu Pages app and found us some Mexican nearby – MXco.

We inhaled some guacamole and my sister and I split the Artichoke Quesadilla and Huitlacoche tacos. It’s nice having a vegetarian around to split meals with!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Anyone want to apply for the full-time job?!

artichoke, idiazabal cheese, sweet corn and tomatillo salsa

the TINIEST tacos - black beans, sweet corn and crema

At random, I chose the Penca De Nopal side – because why the heck not try something new since we didn’t make it to the vegan restaurant!? Very weird taste, almost like a pepper…. but strange.

grilled cactus, crema fresca and pico de gallo

Overall, not bad, but tiny portions!! I felt bad my sister traveled all the way to the city for mediocre Mexican. Oh well, what can ya do?! ๐Ÿ™‚

In the theme of almost vegetarian restaurants and Scout Mob Sunday’s, Danny & I also went to Spring Street Natural on Sunday. It was expiring so we HAD to – Danny was thrilled. We wound up getting the BEST seat in the house. If you’ve never been inside – there’s a corner window seat underneath avocado trees and WE GOT IT! We instead were jipped on the bread.

"i'm tired"

It’s also the best seat in the house for people watching. In New York, this is better than television.

It was totally a raspberry lemonade kind-of-day. Tastes like summer ๐Ÿ™‚

I got a mixed greens salad to start.

….and a veggie burger to finish out the weekend! mmmm, fries.

subbed in chipotle sauce insted of mustard. I like it spicy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now for my much less exciting weekdays – I saw these reverse crunches on the Nike Facebook and I’m all about adding them into my workouts this week!

11 Responses to “the adventures of vegetarians”

  1. Kimberley April 12, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Oooh to bad about Candle 79, I would LOVE to try that… i wish i lived in NY !!

    Mexican food looks good all the same ๐Ÿ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite April 12, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      well I need a partner in crime for Pure Food and Wine…. heh, just kidding!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yes, Mexican food is alwayssss good!

  2. Christine April 12, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    look at all that delicious food! candle 79 is on my street! i stand outside it waiting for the bus every day haha. it always seemed kind of snooty from the outside. that MX place looks delicious and i know exactly where it is! thanks for the recommendation! xoxox

    • cupcake dynamite April 12, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      bahahah that’s what my sister said, “agh VEGANS! and who knew it would look so old!” I should have referenced you, then! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Alyssa April 12, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    I do those reverse crunches all zee tiiiime. they’re a nice move to add to your repertoire while watching TV ๐Ÿ˜‰

    what… everyone doesn’t do that?

  4. yourdailygrace April 12, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I hate when you call ahead and then get there and it’s like the person you talked to some how disappeared? So frustrating but at least you got to see your sister:) I love an excuse to see my family and friends!

  5. Kelly April 12, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    ugh, bummer about Candle 79! Candle Cafe is so delicious though – you should try it! There’s also a new vegan restuarant on first/80th called V Note that is supposed to be pretty good if you’re ever on the UES again ๐Ÿ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite April 12, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      ahhh, thanks – I wish I knew! Candle Cafe looked good just way too crowded and loud for what we wanted.

  6. movesnmunchies April 12, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    ahh bummer about candle 79! ive heard all about that place.!!! reverse crunches are the BOMB = love those!

Leave a Reply

