the besttt sunday funday

18 Apr

Sunday is usually my day of rest, like Jamie, however with 65 degrees & sunny on the forecast, and a boyfriend who actually agreed to run with me for the first time…. ever – I had to make an exception.

Don’t let him fool you though, although this is the first time he ran with me, he used to have to run a few 6 minute miles every morning for lacrosse in high school so he can easily squash me. (but doesn’t know how to pace!!)

We ran all around Williamsburg, through McCarren park and then one lap around the track, down to the water front by East State River park, underneath the overpass, hopping over dogs and puddles on Metropolitan. We finished in about 45 minutes and I tried to do a mapmyrun but I’m not 100% sure where we were at times – I think we did around 5 miles. So much fun in the beautiful weather lapping tourists those walking. 🙂

After chugging some water while Danny’s roommate was clapping for us  (he was just as shocked as me at Danny running!), we desperately needed some food so we headed to Blackbird Parlour for some brunch.

I got a truffle grilled cheese because I just wasn’t feelin’ the b in brunch.

Some celebratory mimosas were also necessary. (side note – does anyone else find that post-run food takes precedence over post-run showers? if not, feel free to judge me in these pictures. ;))

After lunch, I mean brunch (since mimosas were involved…) I really wanted an ice cream cone so it was off to find Mister Softee. Dreams really do come true, people.

It was way too nice of a day to spend inside, so we headed back to McCarren Park – first we watched the dogs at the dog park (I’m obsessed with doing this until I get my own) and then relaxed on the grass to watch some good ol’ American hipster softball. I got to the urge to ask if i could join their team. I seriously miss it after last year’s fun work league. 😦 !!!

I’m in love with the fact that we can watch softball with the NYC skyline in the background. Amazing. 😀 Someone please ask me to join their team, now. Thanks 😉

21 Responses to “the besttt sunday funday”

  1. TheNewHealthy April 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I totally agree that post-run food takes precedence over post-run showers! So on any given day you will find me eating in my sweaty work out clothes! haha 🙂

  2. movesnmunchies April 18, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    what a great run!! and i TOTALLY chow down my fuel before showering– showering is left till last 😀

  3. Jenny April 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    I’m totally with you on the post run food. I will always eat something before showering haha 😀

  4. Lauren April 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Truffled grilled cheese? Ummm, that sounds like the best thing ever! I’m with you on the post-run food taking precedence over the post-run shower. It’s cool to look like you just worked out 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite April 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      it’s definitely what the children of royalty must eat! 😉

  5. fashionfitnessfoodie April 18, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    i rarely shower post run – is that gross? 🙂
    love the mr softee!!!

  6. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 18, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Wow I am so jealous you live in such a beautiful city! And I agree, food before shower any day of the week!

  7. owlmazing April 19, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    I so wish i could get my boyfriend to go on a run with me…that would be so awesome! Unfortuantely my boyfriend smokes (ick) and never works out although he’s still pretty chiseled from work. not fair.
    I totally like watching other people’s dogs because i live in an apartment and can’t get one right now 😦
    ps. love your shorts!

    • cupcake dynamite April 19, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      can’t complain if he’s chiseled!! 🙂 I live in an apartment and want one soooo bad!!! thanks about the shorts – lululemon dragon tears, hehehe!!

      • owlmazing April 20, 2011 at 9:37 am #

        Haha i know i still sometimes wish he would workout with me though 😛 I need a partner in crime!
        Ahh i so know how you feel. One day…we just need backyards! I love the whole dragon tears line from lulu…damn i just love lululemon in general. Expensive habit thought!!

      • cupcake dynamite April 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

        sadly I know these frets all too well ! 😦

  8. This Italian Family April 19, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    If my husband would run with me, I’d totally run on a rest day too! We ran a 5k together last Fall and I couldn’t believe how much he beat me by without ever running before, haha! A bit of humility was good for me, though. 😉 Looks like a great Sunday!

  9. christina April 19, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    i love sunday fundays. truffled grilled cheese sounds awesome!

  10. oftheglamourpersuasion April 19, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Cute blog, love it! Food > showers.

  11. Meg April 20, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Showering can wait…gotta have me some GRUB! 🙂 Amazing run and I hope this weather stays toasty!

  12. yourdailygrace April 20, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    You’ve got some long legs girl! Way to go on getting your boy moving, I tried to get mine to run with me this morning and it didn’t happen=( All your food looks delish as usual!

    • cupcake dynamite April 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      hahaha oh jeez!!! this was the first time he actually agreed so who knows!

Leave a Reply

