eataly… not it-aly!

21 Apr

After work last night, my co-worker slash friend from high school and I headed to Forever 21 for some much needed Spring shopping. After working up a sweat (literally – it was HOT + crowded in there) and being satisfied with our finds (YAY, new rompers :D) we were in serious need of some wine & pasta.

We went to Eataly by Madison Square Park. It’s a big open market with separate cafes for fish, meat, wine & cheese, pasta & pizza, bread, desserts, and soso much more. It’s the essence of “I’m only going to find this in New York City.”

mmmm

oh carbs

There was a bit of a wait for La Pizza & Pasta Cafe so over to the Wine cafe it was – what a tough life. 🙂

thanks, dude.

I loved this sign! (even though this is a horrible picture…) Their first two manifesto points from their website are “we’re in love with food” and “food unites all.” I think these are mine, too.. 😉

eat better, cook simpler 🙂

a beautiful sight

When we went back to La Pizza & Pasta, the hostess let us know we could sit at the counter if we wanted instead of waiting – YES – eat sooner and get to watch the chefs do their thang? Win 🙂

The food options are limited, but because everything is so fresh and simple – it makes it better that way. Of course, we had to start with some bread 🙂

After asking the waiter about the Spaghettone Cacio e Pepe, we both decided to get it. It’s “served very al dente, like in Italia with Cheese from Lazio and black pepper.” The waiter called it a magnificent dish – sold.

this is what you look like after forever 21 destroys you

When our pasta came.. it looked nothing like we imagined, but it tasted A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. I can’t even describe how incredible it was. In fact, I’m day dreaming about it right now.

this picture does barely any justice!

Al dente and perfect 🙂 mmmmm. And to end  the night, as we were walking out – we saw Pei Pei from Freaky Friday. D list celeb spotting, what what!

PS, after perusing the website I saw “LA BIRRERIA is a rooftop restaurant and brewery that will offer the highest quality beer and food under the stars and skyline. Check back this Spring for updates on La Birreria Opening!” I will most definitely be checking that out! Who’s with me?!


		
26 Responses to “eataly… not it-aly!”

  1. Kimberley April 21, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    What an awesome night! I love forever 21, I don’t have one where I live, I have only been there when I visited NY and I remember being mesmorized in there haha. But i shop online F21 alot!

    Love vino 🙂

    • cupcake dynamite April 21, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      You don’t have one where you live?!? Preposterous! I think I shopped enough for you though 😉

  2. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy April 21, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Forever 21 is one of my favorite stores – it definitely can be counted as a work out most of the time too!! 😉

  3. christina April 21, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    omg omg omg cacio e pepe was my FAVORITE thing to eat in italy. i had it 3 times that vaca. so obsessed. and i’ve made it twice. i went to Eataly when i visited NYC in may and i loved it! i want to go back!

    soooooooooooo jealous of your cacio e pepe

  4. yourdailygrace April 21, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I’ve seen another blogger talk about going to eataly and she saw Mario Batali there! Her pizza also looked fabulous just like your pasta! Do they have dessert at this place because I would have been all over that!

    • Jenny April 21, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      Haha I would have been over the dessert too 😀 And omg what a yummy dish! Majorly jealous over here

      • cupcake dynamite April 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

        Ah, they do – I forgot to take a picture! I wanted it so BAD!! But we were sooo stuffed and sleepy! Next time for sure.

  5. Rach @ This Italian Family April 21, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Oooh that looks so fabulous! Glad you enjoyed it so much. 🙂

  6. Susan - Nurse on the Run April 21, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Beer and food under the stars?? Count me in for a romantic blogger meet up! 🙂

  7. mealsformiles April 21, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    I heart Eataly! SUch a great place. And I am totally stalking the site to see when the beer garden opens up!

    • cupcake dynamite April 21, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      It was my first time and I’m already in love!! I hope soon, it sounds amazing and it’s such a good location to have a rooftop – I’m just thinking of the awesome view potential!

  8. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 21, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I love forever 21. Half my pantless wardrobe comes from there. That looks so nomtastic!

  9. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 21, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Al dente! How all pasta should be! I must see this place when I got NYC.

  10. Hungry Dancer April 22, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    Forever 21 is serious shopping!!! I still think that pasta looks amazing!!

  11. Mary (Sisters Running the Kitchen) April 22, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I want to go to Eataly so bad!! I wish there was something like it in Philadelphia!!

  12. Christine April 22, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    omg i went the weekend it opened and i was in heaven. we went to the pasta/pizza restaurant too (not before getting wine & cheese platter at the high table area!). carbs<3

    have a great weekend! xoxox

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. food friday & easter sunday « cupcakedynamite - April 25, 2011

    […] just wandered around until we found something. (Rare for me!) I still had the Italian bug after Eataly on Wednesday and we wound up at Centro Vinoteca. The highlights: vegan yellow tomato soup caprese, mmmmm roasted […]

  2. fourth « cupcakedynamite - July 5, 2011

    […] work (just like the school days!) I thought I could get away with heading to the new beer garden at Eataly. I’ve heard it’s CRAZY to get up there, so figured I’d give it a shot – it […]

  3. one year « cupcakedynamite - November 8, 2011

    […] again, J? ) Along with the Highline, fireworks on a rooftop, the boats in Central Park, & Eataly just to name a […]

Leave a Reply

