a family 5k

25 Apr

Jersey was perfect..I wish I could have stayed longer! Danny and I actually left our costumes at home in VA Beach, and I opted for a more traditional outfit…one including my new Nike Tempo shorts so i could race in a local 5k with my brother!

The race wasn’t my best. I originally set out to beat my PR of 25:23…but one mile in my stomach was in some SERIOUS pain. I thought I could hold out my 7:50ishh pace but the only way it would’ve happened was if I was running straight towards a porta potty… I finished the race in 25:33 but was SUPER excited for my brother! It was his first ever race and he finished in 24:13. (With no training what-so-ever…damn kids.)

bro&me

Despite my failed attempt at a PR, I managed to snag third place in my age group for females, and my bro placed third in his as well. ๐Ÿ˜€

It was so fun to run with my brother, even if he was about a minute ahead the whole time. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The race was to benefit research for SIDS, and after explaining the saddness to my brother he said..”Oh, I thought we were running for STDS.”

Post race my mom made us wraps filled with smoked turkey, cucumber, and cream cheese. (Yes..I’m having a hard time quitting dairy, hence my pain. I’m ridiculous.)

with pretzels&pinapple!

Post 5k we took this little girl for a walk..

piper!

then headed out to Haddonfield..where I was lucky enough to score a running related gift from my parents! More on that soon. ๐Ÿ˜€

Edit: My official results!

                         age|#in              p. 2
 o'all                   grp|age   age  sex|#fin
 place age s  TIME  pace plc|grp  group plc|by sex
  53    23 F 25:36  8:13   3/26   F2029  10/113  F
10 Responses to “a family 5k”

  1. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 25, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Congratulations on getting 3rd place! I’ve never been able to run at a 7:50 pace for one mile, so I can’t even imagine that pace for three miles!

  2. Kimberley April 25, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    haha that sounds entirely like my younger brother, we go for runs together and he dominates when he doesn’t even run barely!

    I am looking for new running shorts now for summer:)I am looking at new Nike ones or lululemon!

    • cupcake dynamite April 25, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      Right so not fair! Hahah! CUTE! I keep finding lots of nikes on sale- lulu is soooo cute but I don’t own any! Hopefully soon ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Jenny April 25, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Congrats on getting third place! Too funny that your bother though he was running for STD research instead of for SIDS lol ๐Ÿ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite April 26, 2011 at 8:04 am #

      HAHA RIGHT!? I was like, what were you THINKING that whole time then? Did you think it was weird? LOL

  4. mego@watchmegorun April 25, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Yay congrats on medals for both! So funny because I ran a race this weekend with my fam too and got a 3rd place medal in my AG! I ran most of it with my bro, but he didn’t place ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So fun to share it with your fam, isn’t it??

    • cupcake dynamite April 26, 2011 at 8:03 am #

      No way that’s funny! Awww bummer he didn’t place as well but still so fun!

  5. Lauren April 26, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    The outfit you are wearing in that last picture is too cute!! Nice job on the race, I think that time is speedy fast! Don’t you hate how people who don’t train can just bust it out?? What is that!

    • cupcake dynamite April 26, 2011 at 8:04 am #

      Well THANKS! RIGHT, totally unfair…he has to run the mile in gym class today and is excited because now it will seem “SO EASY”! I’ll have to find out how fast he went. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. let me tell ya bout my best friend « cupcakedynamite - April 26, 2011

    […] Edit: I added my official 5k results here! […]

Leave a Reply

