spin me right rounddd

2 May

Thank you for all your warm moving wishes! Danny and I are semi-settled into our new place and it feels INCREDIBLE. The best part about it so far? I set my alarm for 5:45am (I know) and ran for only three minutes to get to the gym for a 6am spin class…I was pumped for my workout, especially since my last happened Friday with this girl:

we eat six mile runs for breakfast. or dinner.

I was SHOCKED. The gym is basically in my backyard, really. Heaven. Although i was pumped for class this morning, it wasn’t the best. I’ve been to spin twice before at a different gym and felt like I had the workout of a LIFETIME. Today I could barely hear the instructor and was just confused.

Since I am a spinning novice, sitting on a bike and hearing random numbers and words called out (100! 5-8 speed! 112-120 now back down and 15-18!) was just too much to think about. By the time I caught on to the lingo again class was halfway over.

I came home and made two smoothies in my snazzy new blender for Danny and me. Trader Joe’s chocolate protein powder (SCORE! not too gag-inducing), strawberries, frozen banana, and some milk. Winning combo.

Time to get to work! I’m already feeling energized and ready to go. I’m pumped for some new songs to listen to while I crank out some words today, and I have a feeling this album (Adele, 21) will be powering me through some runs as well!

Hey Adele, can we be best friends? Thanks. Jamie.

14 Responses to “spin me right rounddd”

  1. thegrassskirt May 2, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I listened to Adele’s album the other day while cleaning and got way too into it. I was singing at the top of my lungs (poorly) with the windows open, and I’m pretty sure that I scared the neighbors. πŸ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite May 2, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      HAHA! It’s really hard not to, and I’m not much of a singer either. As soon as I learn the words my neighbors better watch out too!

  2. fashionfitnessfoodie May 2, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I think I just bought the same protein powder but in vanilla! It’s good πŸ™‚

    Spin classes r usually really awesome or really lame all depending on the instructor

    • cupcake dynamite May 2, 2011 at 11:15 am #

      YES. That has to be the key! She seemed sweet and the music was great…I was just too slow to catch on to everything (she really offered no explanations) to really get a great workout. Maybe I should have mentioned I was a newbie, but I did fine at my first two classes.

  3. summer May 2, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    hey darlin. i did not get a lot of time to chat with you but want to try and meet up again.

    you are inspiring me to go out and GYM IT UP. i have to get back into shape and as a reward — Harry’s?

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/harrys-cafe-and-steak-new-york-2

    • cupcake dynamite May 2, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      helllooo! that looks amazing, I can’t believe I haven’t discovered Harry’s before!! Don’t worry, this isn’t my post – it’s Jamie who woke up for spin, but I have been thinking of running by the Seaport or Battery Park, it would be so much prettier than the treadmill I’m used to! πŸ˜‰ and Harry’s would make an unbelievable reward. You in?

      xo courtney

  4. Hungry Dancer May 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    I’m also a spinning novice and it gets really confusing!!! I also find that it’s kind of painful…if you know what I mean! Adele is amazing!!!!

    • cupcake dynamite May 2, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      YES LOL I realized you have to sit back down slowly during jumps and not plop into the “sadle” or the next day is awkwardly painful lolol

  5. Kimberley May 2, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    I tried spinning class once, I got to class late and than I was very confused what was going on and I didn’t know what to do. I dont think I had the seat in the right position and my ass was killing haha so I got up and left after 5 minutes and haven’t tried since.. I really should though haha but I hated that 5 minutes so it makes me not want too lol

    • cupcake dynamite May 2, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Oh totally, why do it if you hate it! Maybe see who taught that time and try a different instructor? It’s so weird because it obviously depends on how much work you put into it but also on the instructor and their routine/teaching skills!

  6. yourdailygrace May 2, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Your workout picture is too cute! One of my friends wants me to go to spin with her and I am so nervous! I think it is going to kick my butt but hopefully since my friend will be with me it won’t be too confusing?

    • cupcake dynamite May 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      THANKS! Just try it! I force myself to try anything once…and the first two classes I went to were NOT confusing at all. I totally got it because the instructor really taught and made it simple…+my garmin said I burnt 600 cals in an hour which meant I really pushed it! This class was the only confusing one. It’s worth a try! πŸ™‚

  7. Lauren May 3, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    I love Adele. Did you know her album title is her age?? She does not seem 21! This just makes me feel like I’ve done nothing with my life compared to her even though we’re the same age.

    • cupcake dynamite May 3, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!?!? She seems way older! I guess because her voice is so mature sounding? JEEZ. Same here, and I’m almost 24! gah!

Leave a Reply

