smelly deli

6 May

After an intense workout at my new favorite class yesterday plus dancing like a drunken wild fool last night (cinco de mayo is officially my new favorite holiday that I don’t understand yet celebrate passionately, see below phone conversation for proof) I woke up STARVING. You’d think the 1am Smartfood Popcorn would’ve held me over. Really.

is this real life?

I drank a protein smoothie for breakfast, snacked on some remaining popcorn and asked Danny to take me to lunch. πŸ˜€ He’s been talking about how great this “Tad’s Deli” is so we made the trip. The egg salad sandwich sounded perfect- I am usually all veggie but knew I needed some protein to qualm this wild hunger.

egg salad on sourdough

At first I was pumped…the egg salad looked simple- JUST eggs..not too creamy and full of unnecessary junk. I needed pure to balance out the 900 margaritas of last night.

The verdict: no flavor. Nothing. No spice, no kick. No dill. Worst. Egg. Salad. EVER. I hardly ever complain- I considered sending it back but since I work in restaurants I really don’t consider that an option. At one point I thought I was chewing on part of a napkin, and it was the bread.

Danny and I brainstormed. First, we added chips.

maui onion, the winner

Still lame. We couldn’t seem to find any flavor in the jalapeno chips either. Does tequila kill taste buds? The solution to fix a lame sandwich- Texas Pete.

improvements.

thumbs up for finishing

As I’m typing this, I really should have just sent the damn sandwich back. I didn’t do it because A. I’m leery of what could happen to my new food and B. I was wondering if my taste buds were shot, or my congested sinuses were to blame.

Do you send food back that you don’t like? I would if something wasn’t cooked correctly, but sending this back because I didn’t like it seemed to be my own fault.

16 Responses to “smelly deli”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 6, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I never send food back that was cooked as stated and I just didn’t like it. If it’s undercooked then I send it back though.

    • cupcake dynamite May 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      I guess that’s the fair way! I’m not used to not liking food so I didn’t know how to react πŸ˜‰

  2. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy May 6, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    haha! I’m thinking the tequila killed your taste buds! πŸ˜‰

  3. Heather (All Sizzle) May 6, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    I’m way too shy to send food back. I usually just plug my nose and eat it. I think I would send something back if it had a gross hair or peice of packaging in it though.

  4. Lauren May 7, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    Glad I’m not the only one is the healthy blog world who was out drinking way too much tequila last night. “Does tequila kill tastebuds?” – ha ha ha! I’m always so hesitant to send food back. Mostly because I usually don’t want to wait for them to remake it he he.

    • cupcake dynamite May 7, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      Hahaha!! It’s possible to be a healthy wild child. We’re young!

  5. fashionfitnessfoodie May 7, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Egg salad after a night of drinking would probably make me want to vom. Even though its definitely one of my favorite sandwiches!

    I normally dont send things back… I suffer through them!

    • cupcake dynamite May 7, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      HAHA! Luckily I wasn’t hung over or sick-feeling…maybe that’s a bad sign? πŸ˜‰ It’s one of my favorites too, which is why I was so bummed!

  6. Leanna Vera May 8, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Sounds like you had an excellent Cinco de Mayo! I’m wary about sending food back too…plus I feel guilty holding up the rest of the table. I have left negative comments on the feedback cards they leave when they bring the check though.

  7. Alyssa May 9, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    DOES THIS MEAN YOU FINALLY GOT THE iPHONNNNEEEEE?!

    • Jamie May 9, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      sadly- that’s from courtneys :(:(:( i really can just get it now though idk why i havent LOL

      • Alyssa May 10, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

        haahah you goofball. πŸ™‚

      • cupcake dynamite May 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

        don’t you notice the “jamie dynamite” as the name, alyssa? BAHAHAHHA
        -courtney

  8. Angie @ The Fitness Apple May 9, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    such a great post! I love your blog!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

