pizza lovin

13 May

In New York City, grocery shopping can probably be considered a work out. What’s bodypump? I take “grocery shopping: level 3.” Don’t even think about taking “grocery shopping: trader joe’s” until you have mastered level 3. And be sure to follow the rules of the coded lines. (I didn’t and got yelled at.)

However, New York is also the land of getting whatever you want, whenever you want, delivered right to your door. Exhibit A:

my welcome home pinkberry from monday

So, when I saw a Groupon $25 for $50 worth of groceries for first time fresh direct customers – I was all about trying out the delivery service and of course, saving money on my groceries. A man brought these to my door. Ahhhh, arms – you got a break this week. Don’t get used to it. The delivery charge is only $5.99 – which is pretty reasonable considering the luxury of having groceries without even stepping a foot outside, but I just don’t know if I could justify ordering again without a coupon.

Tonight, Danny and I took a stab at the whole wheat pizza dough I ordered. He picked up the sauce from whole foods and we used the rest of mah goods. Garlic, mozzarella, basil, seasonings. The dough wound up being slightly smaller than we expected!

Lovely whole wheaaaat goodness.

The result of team work:

mmmm, mozzarella is the best. we’re just trying to perfect the new york slice.

Verdict? The sauce was boring. We’re definitely going to try a something different next time. There’s a million ways to make pizza so I’m excited to keep on goiiin.’ In fact, the current issue of Shape I snagged for my train ride home has quite a few options that are incredibly appealing to me.


9 Responses to “pizza lovin”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 13, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Homemade pizza is the best. I’m seriously jealous…groupon never has any coupons that I want ha.

    • cupcake dynamite May 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      hahah I know this was amazing because I have to get groceries anyway 🙂

  2. Sasha May 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I made pizza with my boyfriend the other night! We used whole wheat dough from Trader Joe’s and topped it with TJ marinara, mozza cheese, sliced bell peppers, mushrooms,and sliced sausage. SO GOOD!! but idk is it worth the trouble? I feel like I can get really good pizza anywhere in NYC haha

    • cupcake dynamite May 15, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      hehe that sounds good!! I think its worth it since we both used whole wheat and made it with our boyfriends!!

  3. fashionfitnessfoodie May 13, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    i saw that groupon! i love having groceries delivered to my door but sometimes i get weirded out by it…def a good way to make sure you only get whats on your list.

    i officially move to Hoboken July 1st! I need a job. Want me to deliver your groceries!? haha

    • cupcake dynamite May 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      HAHA i felt awkward having a large man come to my door.

      what’s your field?! we’ll have to meet up when ya do – maybe I can help a girl out!!

  4. Lauren May 13, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I would love someone to deliver my groceries to me. But I’m picky so it would probably end up being a disaster. Homemade pizza is the best but again, I’m picky and bad sauce could ruin the whole thing. One piece of advice: add the basil after you’ve cooked the pizza.

    • cupcake dynamite May 15, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      that’s why I never ordered them before! I hate not being able to pick out my vegetables myself, but hey I can’t argue saving $25!

  5. christina May 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    that pizza looks profesh! i’m jealous.

Leave a Reply

