a new york memorial day

1 Jun

ahhhh, memorial day weekend. I love any excuse for three days off, but I usually head to the beach so it was quite a shock to my body not to spend it on the sand. This year, mine was a good ol’ New York City Memorial Day and it was just as fantastic.

This solid summer weekend consisted of: the Frying Pan, dinner & drinks on the rooftop of Juliette, Ladder Ball, Phillies vs Mets Game at Citi Field, Fleet Week, Brooklyn Brewery, the garden of Pure Food & Wine, Brew & Food fest on Governor’s Island, South Street Sea Port, and of course, ending it all Monday night with a Corona on my rooftop.

I kicked off the weekend at the Frying Pan, which is the deck of a boat, a whole lotta people, and lots of beer.

Saturday, Saturday, Saturday – a beautiful day for baseball.

we won πŸ˜‰

philly tailgating

Pure Food and Wine Sunday night with my sister – had a groupon! We both agreed we’re glad we tried it, but not sure if it’s for us. I won’t even tell you what Danny said about it. (FYI – raw, vegan food so you can imagine.)

20110601-092555.jpg

the always amazing sangria

20110601-092604.jpg

cashew cheese plate & maki rolls

20110601-092617.jpg

cashew tamales

Monday was spent on Governor’s Island @ Brewer’s PicNYC. Food trucks & beer. ‘Nuff said.

20110601-092625.jpg

grilled cheese truck πŸ˜‰

20110601-092632.jpg

camping out

a free tasting of "grilled cheese" & more importantly, a pickle.

oh haiiii trees, nice to see you again

view from the governor's island ferry

16 Responses to “a new york memorial day”

  1. fashionfitnessfoodie June 2, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    I cant wait to live there and do all the fun things you do πŸ™‚

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 2, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Seriously me too. The only groupons we ever have down here is for like house cleaning bahaha.

  3. Alyssa June 2, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I. LOVE. danny’s shirt.

    suddenly, I need 238 new phillies clothes. πŸ˜‰ I get the itch every time I see something new!

    • cupcake dynamite June 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      there’s one I want on vicki soso bad but it’s been back ordered for months!

  4. Jenny June 2, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Damn I think I need to move to NY πŸ™‚ What a fun time!I love using groupons, they have so many great ones!

  5. Lauren June 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I’m still not sure about the whole raw food thing. Although I’ve never tried it so I guess it’s not fair to judge it yet. Sangria and grilled cheese on the other hand are always welcome in my life.

    • cupcake dynamite June 3, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      BAHA seriously, I’ll take grilled cheese over raw food any day. if that makes me a wrong vegetarian I don’t want to be right.

  6. Tara June 2, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Love them phils πŸ™‚ I’m so jealous of your trip to pure food and wine. I really want to go there! I went to a raw food restaurant in Berkeley and it was fabulous. Actually, what I really want is to get dessert there or at One Lucky Duck.

    • cupcake dynamite June 3, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      the desserts sounded really good, but did not seem worth it for $14 😦 maybe when I go back it needs to be strictly dessert and sangria. πŸ˜‰

  7. Susan - Nurse on the Run June 3, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Yes yes YES we are so getting together when I get back. I’ll be on day shift in two more weeks which means drinks at night!! Can we please hang out and try out new bars and cupcake places? I feel silly when people ask me where I like to go out and I just stare at them because I never go out…

    • cupcake dynamite June 3, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Holy moly!!! That’s amazing news!!! Yes, of course! Have you had sprinkles yet? It’s near bloomingdales and I’ve heard amazing things! It’s originally from California

  8. Cait's Plate June 3, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Nice! I live in Hoboken and work in NY – I definitely did not know Governor’s Island had a Brewer’s PicNYC!! I want to do this next year!

    • cupcake dynamite June 3, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      it was crowded but fun to get outside and enjoy the island and of course beer!!

  9. yourdailygrace June 4, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    Super jealous of your eats! Looks like a great holiday:)

Leave a Reply

