for better or for worse?

7 Jun

Some things in life are better left unsaid (or in my case, unknown.) For example, the number of calories in Shake Shack. (Yes, the Shake Shack seen 37 times in Something Borrowed.) My life was a little better (or worse – you choose) before I knew how many calories and grams of fat are in this beautiful fried, cheese stuffed, mushroom burger.

Before I looked up the nutritional information, I was living in beautiful, cheesy, ignorant, bliss. I think I died a little on the inside when I saw that number. (Posted here if you’re interested.) Regardless, I no longer eat the ‘Shroom Burger like the addict I used to be. Every few months, maybe. Definitely no longer every other week. (Oops, did I really admit that? ;))

Regardless, when I got the the Mint app for my iPhone – I had no idea what I was getting into. Two weeks ago I spent my time properly categorizing all my expenses and truthfully – it scared me and I realized maybe some of these things work better with a “set it and forget” kind of mind set, but one thing that rung true was how much money I was spending on food. I committed to trying to pack a few times a week a few months ago, but two weeks ago – after my night of Mint terror – I decided to go cold turkey. (I’d say no pun intended as that’s a popular lunch meat, but alas I am still a vegetarian. ;))

Last week, I had quite a few lunches to be excited about; like this new salad kit I found at Whole Foods. (I did add some fresh strawberries to the mix.) How perfect? Much cheaper than purchasing a salad out with spinach to spare for the week.

I also stayed home all week – YEP, skipped the Happy Hour and dinner’s out. Gasp!

What did I realize?

By Thursday I killed my only friend for the week. (Had him on the stove while I was cooking brussel sprouts. Very sad. He is in a better basil place now.)

So, this week is all about the balance. I’m still completely committed to bringing my lunch all week – it’s one of the easiest ways to start saving money, but decided a cheap outdoor happy hour and after work human interaction never hurt nobody. (My roomie & I kept missing each other due to both working late!) Sometimes happiness is worth a few extra bucks, and the beauty of happy hours is that they actually do end in time to make yourself dinner if you stay true to that hour part of the compound word. πŸ˜‰

— From Friday’s Happy Hour, spent at Little Town. Four beer tastes of local New York brews and a pint of your favorite for $12.

can you guess who won my heart for the pint?

(+++ Little Town is currently on the Scout Mob App! 50% off, hooray, even better!)

My only other solution is for someone to get me this little guy. I fell in love with him on the streets of Soho Saturday.

Now that’s a face I’d stay home for.

15 Responses to “for better or for worse?”

  1. The Sometimes Healthy Girl June 7, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    I love this blog concept! What a great idea πŸ™‚ And as for the money thing, as a fellow New Yorker, I completely relate. IN FACT, the same thing happened to me when I got Mint, believe it or not. So then, I set a “budget” through Mint on food, which I received an “exceeded budget” alert for every month around the 20th. Yep, with 10 days left in the month, I consistently went over budget, by a lot. Completely agree with moderation because going cold turkey is HARD. I tried with my “budget diet challenge” and it was nearly impossible. I’m going to recap eventually so check it out when I do πŸ™‚

    • cupcake dynamite June 7, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      well, thanks!! πŸ˜€ and can I tell you I get that notification all the time, too?! I actually got a good job saving email on Friday and was SHOCKED.

      … and then I went shopping Saturday.

      That’s sounds awesome, definitely let me know when the recap is coming!

  2. Leanna Wood June 7, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    I’m glad you posted about Little Town…I am definitely checking out that happy hour in the very near future!

    Good luck with the budgeting! I’ve been finding stopping all lunches and dinners out are the best way to save. I’ve also started making my own lattes (which saves me $100 a month) and limiting my mani/pedis to once a month. My nails looked like a 4 year old painted them at first but now I’m starting to get better haha

    • cupcake dynamite June 8, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

      do it!! the tastes + a pint was a good deal.making my your own lattes!? fancy, girl! I’ve been skipping the manicure and only getting a pedicure. New York in the summer.. pretty much a necessity.

  3. Jenna June 7, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Eep– scared to look at those calories. And stay strong with the budget– my roommate and I are on a “once a week” budget, where you can have lunch out once a week and dinner out once a week. It helps keep your spirits up about being poor, but still being able to do stuff and try new restaurants πŸ™‚

  4. Alyssa June 7, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    oh my gosh. GIMME THAT PUP!

    • cupcake dynamite June 7, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      you already have an adorable one – IT WOULDN’T BE FAIR!!

  5. Susan - Nurse on the Run June 7, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Yikes, you’re better off eating a plain burger than the shroom burger….if you’re not vegetarian, that is. πŸ™‚ Foods like that are definitely a treat, in which case I think it’s okay.

    I definitely spent a lot more money on food now that I live in the city, walk past it all the time, and when it’s wayyyy easier to go out for food rather than cook it myself in the little kitchen.

    That happy hour looks cute! I will gladly check one out with you sometime…soon, please? We need to coordinate.

    • cupcake dynamite June 7, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

      HAHA, I know – for once the carnivore is healthier. YES!! When do you start getting off of the overnight shift? I’m done work at 6 pm every night (well, sadly most nights later) but I’m definitely down!!!! πŸ˜€ you definitely need a celebration happy hour for switching to day time shifts!

  6. Cait's Plate June 7, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Haha that is SO funny you said that about Something Borrowed because as I was watching that movie I was like “goodness – is Shake Shack sponsoring this entire movie!?” I mean, no one goes there for lunch every day – and there are definitely way longer lines than what they showed!!

  7. Lauren June 7, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    OH.MY.GOSH. That puppy is adorable!! Packing lunch is such a pain, but it’s worth it for your body and wallet’s sake. Oh and that shroom burger looks seriously good. You should probably make your own version. And then give me the recipe πŸ™‚ It’s all about the balance for sure!

    • cupcake dynamite June 8, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      I’ve thought about making my own version! And actually in New York, eating lunch out isn’t even less healthy. There are so many healthy options everywhere. (unless of course I choose Shake Shack!)

  8. Maris (In Good Taste) June 7, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    OMG! I love Shake Shack!!!

  9. yourdailygrace June 8, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    So I went to go check out the nutritional info but then realized there is a Shake Shack in D.C. where I’ll be July and decided to remain blissfully unaware since I think I must have a ‘shroom burger!

Leave a Reply

