mini vans & strength woes

28 Jun

Hey ya’ll! Courtney is most likely still chilling on the beach with beer in hand and I am back to writing and editing my life away. Camping was a BLAST. I’m anxiously awaiting some pictures but at least I do have one of our arrival…Coors Light Ad anyone?

cheesin'

Danny and I didn’t get to the campsite until midnight Friday night. He got home from his long UPS day at 8pm and we packed up his entire car, got in & ready to hit the road and it wouldn’t START. I had to do everything in my power not to laugh (I mean it was really really funny) because I could see that D$ was pretty sad. We couldn’t take my car because I’m working on getting the insurance set up this week along with my VA tags..so it would have been a highly illegal choice. Stealing his parents’ mini van ended up being the best choice ever. Future life vehicle? Let’s hope not.

Fast forward to hitting the gym this morning= highly successful. I’ve been working hard to increase my running mileage and feeling great about it. One thing I’ve decreased= strength training.

I need to make something clear. I know that strength training= does not equal bulky woman. However- strength training makes ME feel bulky. I’m not sure if it’s my past as a gymnast and the fact that I pack on muscle FAST, but there is something about my own body and strength training that really does not mix. Every time I get in to strength training, my 5 foot frame feels puffy and uncomfortable. Am I doing something wrong? Is this just my body?

CONFUSED.

Feeling this way has honestly allowed me develop some sort of fear against hitting the weights again. I haven’t done any strength training in a month, and I WANT to. I know that it’s good for my body…but I am honestly freaked out about the stocky appearance it gives me, and the way it makes me feel.

Can anyone relate? Am I the only fast packing muscle woman out there?

 

16 Responses to “mini vans & strength woes”

  1. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy June 28, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I can relate! I’d much rather do cardio because I always feel so bulky when I lift weights! I know it’s not all in my head either, because my jeans always feel tighter! I prefer using my own body weight for strength training, making sure I do a lot of exercises that are lengthening (like Pilates), otherwise I don’t feel very good.

    • Jamie June 28, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Yesssss! I know there are so many girls out there lifting heavy and looking lean as hell..but it’s just not for me and doesn’t give my body the same effect. Frustrating because I know lifting is so healthy. Maybe I will try to work in some more exercises using my own body weight this week!

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss June 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    let’s do a class soon. and we’ll use baby weights. 🙂 cause my arms need to get less bulky, more toned. please?

    • Jamie June 28, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      FINE. I really need to get over this new found fear. It’s getting a little ridiculous. Guess we can go to pilates………. 😉 bahahha

  3. yourdailygrace June 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I have the opposite of your problem..I cannot so anything to make myself fell muscle-y!

    • Jamie June 28, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      See! That’s why I think the whole “strength training won’t make you bulky” argument varies from person to person.. genetics and your bod have a lot to do with it! 🙂

      • Meghan June 28, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

        Totally agree..I am one of those long and lean people no matter WHAT I do. Seriously..I’ve tried lower reps/higher weight/frequency and I still can’t seem to bulk up where I want to. I say we just rock what we got!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Girl I am the same way. I love to feel strong but I hate the appearance it gives me. I prefer to lift my own body weight but never go higher.

  5. Er June 29, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I am the same way- it is actually called having a mesomorph body. There are tons of different articles on the subject. Our team trainer in college told us that a large part of getting bulky vs. getting cut was diet. I found even lifting 5lb. weights make my arms get huge! I’ve done best by using my body weight- I get a more lean muscle. Plyometics has done wonders as well.

    But look on the bright side, most people are envious of mesopmorphs! You could have an endomorph body- which means you have big bones, big hips and gain weight very easily. That sounds much worse than muscle!

    • Jamie June 29, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      You are incredible! Thank you so much for this information, I am definitely doing to do more research! So wild.. and I’m with you, even light weights= bulk. I’m going to have to dig deep & whip out the plyos!

  6. The Sometimes Healthy Girl June 30, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I’m a big fan of strength training. Don’t do a ton of it (about 10 minutes each workout) but I do think it’s good to add a little into the mix. I echo the points about using body weight as being effective to a toned build. But, girl, own those muscles. I think muscles are empowering! I used to have skinny, wimpy arms (back in high school) and everyone made fun of me! Now they are BUFF (okay not that buff, but the point is, I’m proud of it!)

    • jamie June 30, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Wah! I would totally love them if I looked buff.. but with my arms/shoulders I seem to build up muscle under fat or something…just puff no cut. Guess that’s a diet related thing but I’m not giving up my beer. 😉 Maybe I am just being hyper critical! I love the look of muscles- if I had jillian michaels body Id be thrilled! But for me I just turn into a big marshmallow

  7. Lauren June 30, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Strength training, what’s that? Yeah, I’ve kind of let my lifting regime die lately. Does yoga count? Those chatarangas are no joke.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. mini vans & strength woes « cupcakedynamite | Fitness - June 28, 2011

    […] from: mini vans & strength woes « cupcakedynamite Posted in Strength Tags: but-there, does-not, fact, not-sure, pack-on-muscle, strength, […]

  2. meso-what? « cupcakedynamite - July 1, 2011

    […] you for your comments on my post about troubles with strength training! I received a really interesting comment from Er about body type, indicating that I was most […]

  3. update on kickin’ those habits « cupcakedynamite - August 9, 2011

    […] Once again- it’s ONLY been two weeks. (I started a week before the first.)  I know that things can change, but as of now I’m happy and I like this life. In addition to quitting calorie counting I’ve decided to do a double whammy and combat my fear of lifting weights. […]

Leave a Reply

