meso-what?

1 Jul

Rabbit, rabbit, Jamie here!! It’s July! Do any of ya’ll say that? When I was little I was told if I said rabbit rabbit upon waking up (literally, it has to be the first thing you say) I’d have a lucky month! I usually forget to say it immediately and remember about an hour later, which is a no-go. (Although I said it once on January 1st a year ago and crashed my car into a pole the same day so….goes to show ya how true that really is.)

sneaky little guy

Thank you for your comments on my post about troubles with strength training! I received a really interesting comment from Er about body type, indicating that I was most likely in fact a mesomorph. According to Muscle & Strength.Com:

A mesomorph has a large bone structure, large muscles and a naturally athletic physique. Mesomorphs are the best body type for bodybuilding. They find it quite easy to gain and lose weight. They are naturally strong which is the perfect platform for building muscle.

Typical traits on a Mesomorph:

  • Athletic
  • Hard body with well defined muscles
  • Rectangular shaped body
  • Strong
  • Gains muscle easily
  • Gains fat more easily than ectomorphs

Wild. And to clarify- I love muscles. Jillian Michaels is my idol, and I wouldn’t mind looking ripped if I actually looked ripped. My strength training gives me a puffy effect because I am most likely not 100% with the food I eat. I’m all for a healthy diet, but I’m not about to go nuts and I’d prefer to keep my current balance of veggies, beer, whole grains, and cupcakes. Only live once so I’m going to do it right.

we ain't cupcake dynamite for nuthin'

That being said, I am definitely going to take your advice and incorporate some body weight training and continue to lay off the weights for a little while. Also- I am definitely interested in further checking out specific workouts/food for mesomorphs, as I totally think body type has so much to do with athletic progress.

Today I plan on kicking my ass in gear with a nice six mile run. To combat boredom, a new playlist:

july tunes

The only thing that keeps me running are tunes that would keep me dancing. And speaking of dancing, I plan to do a ridiculous amount this weekend. Everyone pumped for the fourth?!

We’re having a surprise party at our house tomorrow for our friend Taylor’s birthday! Links to any great party recipes you’ve recently posted or seen in the blog world would be of great help. 😀

12 Responses to “meso-what?”

  1. Lauren July 1, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    It’s funny how much my idea of a “long run” changes. 6 miles sounds so.dang.long. to me right now! You go, girl 🙂 Loving your playlist!

    • jamie July 1, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      Thanks lauren! It sounded long to me too, Ive been doing lots of shorter runs/HIIT lately. Six sounded bad but it felt SO so good!

  2. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 1, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    haahaha you mesomorph. can I call you that from now on?

  3. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 1, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    p.s. I don’t know what went on on YOUR side of south jerz, but I was never told talking about bunnies upon waking up would make me lucky.

    • jamie July 1, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      HAHAHAHAHA! i learned it in upstate new york, i lived there until halfway through kindergarten! i am a superstitious mesomorph.

  4. Er July 1, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out! Let me know if you find any good books on the subject. If I find some old articles and training plans for mesomorphs that I saved I will email them over to you! And I agree with Alyssa, I do feel funny calling myself a mesomorph! haha

    • jamie July 1, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      Thanks so much!!! I will definitely keep you posted! Right, I feel like a damn butterfly bahahha.

  5. Sweet Cheeks July 1, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Hey! Just stumbled across your blog!

    I never knew there was such a thing as a mesomorph. That is kinda cool! Good job on the run and have a happy 4th!!

  6. The Sometimes Healthy Girl July 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    hahaha I love Jillian Michaels too. I would love to be ripped like her 🙂

    Like your playlist. I’m sooo stealing some tunes. Glad you’re going to keep up with a little strength training. Hope the 4th and the run went well!

  7. Keri July 6, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Oooh thank you for the playlist!!!

    • cupcake dynamite July 6, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      I’m glad you like it!! Playlists definitely make the run for me- Rihannas Man Down is soooo good! And Power by Kanye is my new top running jam. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. meso-what? « cupcakedynamite | Fitness - July 1, 2011

    […] More: meso-what? « cupcakedynamite Posted in Strength Tags: a-really-interesting, post-, really-interesting, strength, […]

Leave a Reply

