bff best friends friday

8 Jul

Welcome to our very first BFF Best Friends Friday! Starting today, Friday posts will feature a post we write together, a crazy memory from our friendship, or basically anything fitness foodie BFF related.. because there was a reason we started this blog journey together! Ya dig?! (Psst, we’d love it if you left us comments to let us know what you think, something you’d like to see in future Fridays, or even a story about you and YOUR BFF! :))

BFFS in AC

Moving out of Jersey to begin careers in NYC (Courtney) and VA Beach (Jamie) was one of the best decisions we’ve made. The only downfall to this? The “Moving 15″…similar to gaining weight when leaving for college. New places, new rules (okay..no rules) and finally moving out of our respective parents’ homes for good. Here’s our life lessons learned 400 miles apart in regards to feeling a bit…”soft” 😉 after moving to a new place…and finding ways to get back on track with health and fitness.

Courtney

1. A new place means new food.

Coming from the suburbs to New York City my options became literally endless. I packed my lunch for work every single day when I was living at home and when I moved to NYC, I saw myself eating lunch out everyday. Shake Shack? (Anyone see Something Borrowed?) Yes, please. I discussed this before, but the shroom burger became my new obsession. And then one day I took the plunge and looked up how many calories it has. Let’s just say, I am no longer obsessed and I’m not even close to being a calorie counter.

okay look at that, maybe I'm still a recovering obsessor

It took a couple months to realize; yes – the food here is amazing, but I won’t miss anything if I don’t eat it every day. I’ve started balancing myself out by beginning to pack at least 3 days a week, and then gradually making it to every day! However, if I do go out – I make sure I’m picking healthy options. Schnipper’s has amazing mac & cheese, but they also have an amazing salad. If I’m with a friend we make sure to share fries instead of keeping them to ourselves, too. This is why they taught us to share in pre-school, my friends.

2. It’s hard to say no to happy hour.

Prior to moving, I knew a few people living here, but in a city this huge – it’s easy to get lost in the hustle. I felt the need to say yes every single time someone asked me to go out after work. I would then proceed to eat awful happy hour food even though I had a pile of fresh vegetables at home. While it is still hard to say no to happy hour – I know that there’s always tomorrow, or next week and it doesn’t have to be an every night occurrence. I’ve also learned that it’s incredibly easy to stay out for one or two drinks, skip the mozzarella sticks, and then go home to make my usual healthy dinner without missing too much fun.

3.  Getting back into a routine.

Moving to New York was a crazy switch for me. When I first moved here, it was quite an adjustment to start walking ALL the time that I couldn’t even dream of working out. (Also, these said happy hours were getting in the way ;)) It seemed fair because I was walking everywhere after all, but it truly did nothing for me as far exercise or keeping myself at my normal healthy “Courtney weight.” It took a while, but once I felt settled in, I promised myself I’d get back to working out every morning – and that I did! I try to wake up every morning before work and get to the gym so it doesn’t interfere with any of my after work fun and exploration of this amazing new city! Also, running buddies are a fantastic way to explore New York in a whole new way, too!

My boyfriend and I have weekly (unless it’s hot and he whines) Saturday runs around Brooklyn and it’s amazing how much faster you get around to seeing the scenery! …Not to mention all the zillions of classes you can take with your friends  instead of going to happy hour. My roommate and I took a gymnastics class together one night and had an absolute blast doing that, too!

Jamie

1. The Double Whammy.

For me, moving to VA Beach also meant moving in to my cousin’s home and falling disgustingly in love with his roommate…aka my now boyfriend, Danny. Oops? I’m a scandalous gal, what can I say? For the first few months this meant that the idea of leaving Danny (heaven forbid) in the morning to go workout sounded awful. I was in the phase of wanting to spend every waking moment with the boy, and lost much of my motivation to hit the gym. Danny works for UPS, therefore he basically works out for a living, so bringing him along to the gym was a no go. The solution? I signed up for my first VA Beach 5k. I’m a competitive girl, and knew I’d push myself to run more if I had a race to prepare for. I ended up PR-ing at 25:22 and earning third place in my age group.

Although we’re still in a happy committed relationship, I’ve passed through the newly dating-don’t even leave the room because we’re obsessed with each other phase, and now have no issue ditching him for a good workout. 😉

2. Treating life…like vacation.

I moved to the beach. People flock here for vacation, and during the first few months of living here I treated my life as such. Out for ice-cream even though I just ate some homemade cookies after dinner? Sure. I’m on vacation. About seven pounds later (I’m only 5’0″, it makes a difference) I needed to get strict. SURE I allow myself treats (almost daily)..and I am in NO way trying to restrict my sugar intake (you only live once) but limiting it and not letting it get in the way of also enjoy fresh, energizing foods…is key. Moderation…not vacation. 😉

beachy fit!

3. Making time for fitness.

Moving here and living on my own meant I needed to make some serious cash. I work full-time in marketing (from home……amazing) and part-time free-lance writer. I’m a busy, busy girl. I believe that there’s ALWAYS time to stay fit. If I can’t hit the gym, I “Shred” with Jillian Michaels on my lunch break. Luckily, my new gym is in walking distance and I can head over during lunch time, early in the AM, or at night if I’m not working. I don’t stress about making time, I figure out when I can workout (usually 4-5 days a week), and I DO IT. It makes me feel good, has helped me lose my “Moving 15″…or seven, or eight ;)..and keeps me happy!

😀

 


17 Responses to “bff best friends friday”

  1. fashionfitnessfoodie July 8, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Perfect post since I just moved to Jersey with my boyfriend. I got a double whammy too… I also cant afford a gym yet. WHOMP!

  2. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn July 8, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Love that phase ❤ You forgot to mention Tabata TNT! 😉

  3. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 8, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    you both are so cute. 🙂 love bff best friend fridays!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    You guys are adorable! I used to be obsessed with shroom burgers too. Can you say twinnies?

  5. Cassie July 8, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    OMG, girls!! I love this post. Since I plan on moving out soon (NYC probably so let’s be friends Courtney…and Jamie too, when you visit 🙂 this is really helpful to keep in mind. Thanks and I look forward to next weeks!

    • cupcake dynamite July 9, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      Thank you! And yessss let’s be friends when ya move!! 😀

  6. Girl In The Pink July 8, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    BFF Fridays – so cute!

    I totally love workout DVDs to get in a quick workout on a busy day! I have never tried Shred – would you recommend it??

    • cupcake dynamite July 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      YES!!!!! I HIGHLY recommend it- it is an incredible workout! I haven’t even tried level three and I consider myself in decent shape + I’ve had the DVD a year LOL

  7. Sarah Soon-To-Be July 9, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I want to put you two in my pocket and take you everywhere with me. Seriously you’re so cute! Love this post.

  8. Er July 9, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Love this post!!

  9. Leanna Wood July 10, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I love this new feature! Can’t wait to read next week’s post!

  10. Grace July 10, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Love the idea of you two sharing a post! Thanks for the tips ladies:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. bff: why to date a danny « cupcakedynamite - July 15, 2011

    […] Welcome to our second installment of BFF= Best Friends Friday! If ya’ll missed it last week, BFF is when we combine our forces and post together on the same topic! Because, like we said week.. we […]

  2. bff: flashback friday « cupcakedynamite - July 22, 2011

    […] Friday will be a very special blast to the past!! Catch up on what BFF is in our first two posts here and […]

  3. BFF: our differences « cupcakedynamite - September 2, 2011

    […] While we often times emphasize how similar we are, Jamie and I actually *DO* have some differences. GASP! :O That’s why we wanted to do a Best Friends Friday where we talk about some of the things that make each of us our own person. Catch up on our rules, or what BFF actually is here. […]

Leave a Reply

