jet-lagged and potato-filled. done.

14 Jul

First thing first: I. Am. Exhausted. I woke up yesterday at 4am (was that really yesterday?) and had D$ the most incredible boyfriend ever drive me to the airport. (Thank you D$, if you read my blog you would know that I am fully gracious of the fact that you drove me to the airport at 4:30 AM before you worked 10 hours as a highly paid UPS slave.)

eternally greatful, and d wonering what he got himself in to

After one flight to Atlanta, a three hour layover, a four hour flight to Phoenix, and getting fully acquainted with this book:

thanks google

I finally landed here.

beauty. hot, hot beauty.

I had to fly in to Phoenix for some marketing training, and although it is incredibly beautiful (and definitely in its own right) it is HOT. Like.. seriously. “Dry heat” is a myth. A sick myth that says just because it is 105 degrees, the air is dry and it isn’t as hot. WRONG. I laid by the pool for all of 5 minutes yesterday..each time I jumped in I got out and was immediately dry. Plus my lips got chapped after 8 seconds of being outside. EW.

you're welcome for the sweaty photo

I tried to run at the gym last night but this time change is killing me. I managed only a 2 mile walk/run (it was HOT in there) and 20 mins on the elliptical at the pace of an 80 year old woman.

pretending to be happy about fitness in an oven

Luckily this room service salad saved the day: Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing, you can make your way into VA now, thanks!

if i said "winning" i'd say it right now

After forcing myself to stay up until it was 8pm Arizona time and 11pm on my internal clock, I passed out for 10 hours. Beauty. Training today was informational, and I felt pretty good about myself since I was placed into the advanced group after taking a test about the program. (Hey, I’ll take the ego boost!)

Until lunch time came around. I wish I snapped a photo, and more so I wish someone snapped a photo of my face when I saw the catered table. Upon first though I shouted to myself “YESSSSSS. BIG OL HOAGIES.” (Aka subs) BUT NO. What I thought was subs was a pile of baked potatoes the size of my face.

Baked potatoes. And a bar of toppings.

what da f**k

http://www.pollsb.com/polls/baked_goods

No protein.. I made an odd salad mix and had a potato bite before deciding that Arizona is all too weird for me. After lunch the jet lag hit and it all went down hill from there, as I facebook chatted with Danny and creepy men tried to get me to go out with them in Phoenix tonight. (Sure, I’m a little girl traveling here alone, let me just go out on the town with six large men.)

BASICALLY. I’m over it. I want my big comfy bed, a bottle glass of pinot (grigio, that is), and my danster. I can’t even work out tonight because I am too damn tired. Annnnd I’m out. xo If I make it til 8pm it will be a miracle, somebody buy me dinner.

7 Responses to “jet-lagged and potato-filled. done.”

  1. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 15, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Iloveyouandimissyouandvabeachsuckswithoutyoucomebacknowpleasebye.

    and i agree.. totally don’t get the baked potato bar thing either.

    • cupcake dynamite July 15, 2011 at 8:15 am #

      Right!! Like what?! Potatoes only bar? I miss YOU. Monday gym sesh!

  2. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn July 15, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    D$ is a BABE (just sayin). Wah I’m sorry you didn’t get your dream job but HEY…at least you are getting a full ride to go to Arizona and get room service and soak up the sun 🙂 I can’t wait to hang out with you again girl!! We were such Tabata proooos

    • cupcake dynamite July 15, 2011 at 8:14 am #

      THANKS I think so too!! 😉 and I’m still waiting on that call! I should know by wednesday of next week 😦 LOL but very true this is a good experience. AGREED even though I was sore for 5 days after…BAHAHA

  3. fashionfitnessfoodie July 15, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    We used to do baked potato bars at work but only serving it with chili or something. WEIRD!

    • cupcake dynamite July 15, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      EEK! At least chili is a little protein.. ? Still sounds yucky though! Who wants just a giant potato for lunch? I ate sooo much breakfast this morning and have a stash of fruit hidden in my purse in case im left with a rutabaga bar or something LOL

  4. Lauren July 15, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Ew, I’m not a fan of baked potatoes. So dry and boring. I’ve only ever been to AZ in the winter and it’s still hot so I don’t even want to imagine what it’s like during the summer! Love the ending to this post. I’m always saying I’m over stuff. Hope you get your pinot!

Leave a Reply

