frozen summer treats

19 Jul

Best $2.50 I ever spent over the weekend?

Shaved ice actually shaved in front of you. I got the red plum. It was sosososo delicious. I might be a little biased because I had just spent my time walking around on top of Manhattan in the sun, but I doubt it because my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

new arm workout?

And walking in the sun was on the HighLine. Old train tracks turned into a park. Brilliant. (<– can you tell I saw HP7 last night?)

Worst $6 I spent? (…Sorry Danny. Jinx, Jaim?)

pick yo cookie, pick yo filling

I’m very sad to report, but it was on a Coolhaus ice cream sandwich. I had been following the truck on twitter for some time now and was really excited to finally be able to try it.

The cookie was way too hard for my liking; I couldn’t even bite into it without the whole thing becoming a sloppy mess and wound up throwing almost half out. (not of course before I ate any extra ice cream I could savage!) Awesome idea, but softer cookies, please. Especially for $6! 😦 Danny claims my choice of red velvet cookie and oreo ice cream was a poor choice, too. I’ll argue that one though..

Otherwise, my weekend was spent on quite a few roof tops and seeing quite a few concerts. And I won’t dare complain about either of those things.

20110719-100658.jpg

Enjoy your Wednesdays, all! I’ve got a half day and visitor I’m looking forward to. πŸ™‚

13 Responses to “frozen summer treats”

  1. owlmazing July 19, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Ooh I am impressed by the shaved ice. I can imagine how good that would be after walking around in the heat! Sorry to hear the sandwich was sub-par, a build your own ice cream sandwich SOUNDS like a really good idea!

  2. The Sometimes Healthy Girl July 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I have got to get some of that shaved ice! Looks amaazing. I’ve actually never walked along the HighLine but have been meaning to. Will definitely get on that before summer’s end!

    • cupcake dynamite July 20, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      It seriously was! Get some when you go. I demand it. It’s crowded but definitely worth going πŸ™‚

  3. mealsformiles July 20, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    I haven’t been to check out the high line yet! I really want to though – it sounds cool. And any kind of frozen treat will do in this craptastic weather! I think I want to lay down on that block of ice, actually.

  4. Lauren July 20, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Shaved right in front of you?? Awesome! I really need to get on the food truck bandwagon, it sounds wicked fun <— I also just watched HP.

  5. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 20, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    UH, the cookie ice cream samwich sounds SO GOOD. and there is no way red velvet will ever be a poor choice.

    …ever.

  6. fashionfitnessfoodie July 20, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    i dont see HOW your red velvet could be a bad choice! I saw a fro-yo truck in NYC on sunday but I had just eaten gelato from eataly!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. one year « cupcakedynamite - November 8, 2011

    […] like eating at PB&co with Jamie. (Sure you don’t want to visit again, J? ) Along with the Highline, fireworks on a rooftop, & the boats in Central Park just to name a […]

Leave a Reply

