kick the habit: confessions of a calorie counter

26 Jul

This morning Gracie (love her style!) posted about “Kick the Habit” (I’ll let you research on your own…the name really says it all!)

An August challenge to give up a negative habit? This really couldn’t have come at a better time, and I am PUMPED to participate. My challenge? I want to quit counting calories for once, and for all.

This is not to say that counting calories is a “bad” habit, but it is to say that counting calories is a bad habit for ME. I’m a closet calorie counter. Courtney knows of my habit because I think I’d notify her if I even changed toothpaste..(nope..still using vivid white Court) and I’ve briefly mentioned it to Danny who didn’t seem to understand.

nope, don't get it..

But counting calories is a process I’ve gone in and out of for…years. I can’t even tell you how long I’ve been tracking. I’m not necessarily obsessed with hitting a certain number, and if I’m hungry and above the limit I wanted to originally stay at, I EAT. There are some prominent reasons that I’d like to give it up, though. And here they are:

1. It’s possible that calorie counting has sometimes made me GAIN weight. This is because there are days when I’m really not hungry but at night I see a couple hundred more calories “allowed” in my future.. so I eat. While I’m not hungry, just because a number says I can. Why stuff my face when my body is clearly satisfied?

2. I’m not getting the nutrients I need. As posted in my last WIAW, I ate lots and lots of sugar. It’s obviously cool to have treats here and there, but I am currently subbing brownies or froyo for actual veggies and grains, just because they fit within my daily limit. This may keep my waistline the same, but it’s not helping my insides.

3. It creates negative feelings about my day. If I go well over the “number” I wanted to stay within, I feel guilty. If I stay under, I am happy. This is also unhealthy for my mind. I don’t need to associate my happiness with food.

4. I’m a fitness fanatic. I need to fuel my body and listen to it. My body needs more than the bodies of those who chill on the couch all day. I want to really LISTEN to it. This includes eating when hungry, and stopping when full. The basic principles of following my appetite.

Whew. I’ve realized that while this post may have made me sound neurotic… I’m really not. I don’t necessarily think about food or calories all day.. I simply tack on the numbers of what I’ve eaten as a guideline. BUT, I don’t think it’s unnecessary. And for the reasons I’ve stated, I want to QUIT.

I think having a month of quitting rather than thinking I need to quit for life will allow me to chill out about it. Hopefully by the 31st of August I will see that NO, I did not gain ninety pounds and YES, I feel great and free.

imma tell you one time

Sorry, just wanted to lighten the mood around here.

I QUIT!

Expect lots of progress updates. I have nothing to hide.

22 Responses to “kick the habit: confessions of a calorie counter”

  1. gracie July 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Love this and love you girls!!!

    Do you have a twitter?

    • cupcake dynamite July 26, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      I tweet @jamiedynamitee, we don’t have our blog twitter up yet- very soon! 🙂 I’m really looking forward to this positive challenge!

  2. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    That’s great that you’re going to kick the habit! I tried counting calories for about a three month span of time and ended up gaining weight…go figure. Now I just eat what I want (for the most part).

    • cupcake dynamite July 26, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

      Thanks emily! I think it’s worth a try! I totally feel ya on that- it makes complete sense to me how that could happen..I honestly think it has happened to me, too! Hope you had a great birthday!

  3. Lauren July 26, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I had no idea you calorie counted! I was an obsessive calorie counter for a few months and totally did the same thing where I’d end up eating junk at the end of the day because I had “leftover calories.” Listening to your body is way easier. Now that I don’t count calories I can’t fathom how I spent so much time figuring numbers out. I think this is a great goal, Jamie!

    P.S. I just laughed hysterically at that Bieber picture!!! I just love his man bangs.

    • cupcake dynamite July 27, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      Closet calorie counter.. the secret is out! Thanks for your support! That leftover calories thing has allowed me to drink a couple extra glasses of wine at night too… oops! Gonna save that for the weekends- at least until my birthday next week. 😉

      GOTTA love man bangs! BAHAHA

  4. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices July 27, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Oh my gosh- I used to count calories like there was NO tomorrow. It was ridiculous. I even made spreadsheets for each meal on the computer (talk about obsessive)…and I noticed the SAME thing. You can actually GAIN weight because you are SO focused on that ONE number rather than listening to your body. I might have a low day, and then eat like a cow at dinner….even if I wasn’t that hungry. It made no sense.
    GOOD luck!! You can do it!!!

    • cupcake dynamite July 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      YES! I totally agree- it really does make NO sense. I’m going to try- thanks so much!! I need to learn to trust myself and I think everything will happen naturally. 🙂 I’m two days in and I’m not stressed yet!

  5. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 27, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I LOVE YOU YOU’RE AWESOME.

    p.s. since you’re a lazy reader, I’ll fill you in here… diet soda instead of all other ingredients. no oil, eggs, or water or anything.

    yooou’re welcome.

  6. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn July 27, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Love you. Calorie counting was never a struggle for me, but I’ve occasionally tallied up my daily calories if I’ve done a race or a hard workout and might not be getting enough food!!

    • cupcake dynamite July 27, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      LOVE YOU! I went back to tabata.. at 6am. I might be mentally insane, put me in a home.. BAHA. That seems like a healthy way to total! Totally why it is not a bad habit, but just a bad habit for me and the way I have used it. 🙂

  7. ittybitsofbalance July 27, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    LOVE this post! Calorie counting is not for me either– it just resulted in an obsessive and cardio-consumed lifestyle. I do NOT have enough time in the day for that.

    By the way, I’m Brittany– I just found your blog and love it (especially starting with a great post like this!) 😀

  8. readeatsweat July 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Quitting counting calories will be one of the best things you do! I find that when I counted calories I obsessed about my food for the day. Now that I eat when I am hungry, or when my body is craving something, I actually ENJOY my food and don’t think about it all darn day lol. And I think I actually lose weight when I don’t think about what I am eating!

    Good luck!

  9. Becky July 28, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    I am the exact same way about calories, and some of the things you mentioned I haven’t even thought about but I totally do them, like eating more even when I’m not hungry because I have room left in my day. It’s just weird. I’d love to one day stop counting but it would be tough.

  10. snacktress July 31, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Just found your blog, ladies, and love it!

    From one Jamie to another – I totally hear ya on the calorie-counting. It’s a bitch and I’ve eaten when not hungry because of it too. I’m trying to cut down/stop altogether. Good for you!

    Holla Bieber.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. puppies and pasta « cupcakedynamite - July 28, 2011

    […] y’all! Thanks so much for your comments on my post about quitting the calorie counting : my goal that I have already put into motion! It’s going to be HARD. This is my third day […]

  2. hip hop and ya don’t stop « cupcakedynamite - August 1, 2011

    […] official day of Kick the Habit! If you’re participating feel free to read about my goal to quit counting calories. I am actually PUMPED and ready to knock it off. Eco World Content From Across The Internet. […]

  3. bloggers who are kickin’ it. « FreelyBe | FreelyBlog.org - August 4, 2011

    […] Jamie from Cupcake Dynamite is going to quit counting calories. […]

  4. update on kickin’ those habits « cupcakedynamite - August 9, 2011

    […] forgotten about Freely Be’s Kick The Habit.. where I’ve promised myself to finally quit counting calories once and for all. By forgotten… I mean I’ve QUIT without […]

  5. loving lately « cupcakedynamite - August 15, 2011

    […] but I wouldn’t mind if someone would. I’ve been obsessing over these babies. With the decision to quit counting calories I’ve been paying way more attention to what is actually IN my meals and snacks. What […]

  6. i am [not] a scientist « cupcakedynamite - August 23, 2011

    […] science-less past- I feel like a serious scientist right now. With this whole Kick the Habit thing (QUITTING the calorie counting) and the new addition of my ever-feared strength training I feel like I’m conducting some […]

Leave a Reply

